Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Nice clean hotel, looks like rooms have been recently renovated to a good standard. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southern England

Booked for convenience for channel tunnel.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Forgien staff had either limited English or deliberately unhelpful. No restaurant the evening we arrive and breakfast too late for our channel booking. Booked for wheel chair access.... steep steps to front door and room on 3rd floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cambridgeshire

Very disappointing

Posted Jul 24, 2016
We stayed here for 3 nights for our sons naming day weekend. On arrival we could t check in (we were early at 11.30am so that's fine) we left our bags and came back later with2 of our family parties. We all checked in as a wedding was underway. We had to wait to go to our room because they couldn't get our bags as one receptionist was late for work. We got to our room to find we had no cotbed for baby which we had ordered in advance and also checked when we had arrived and not been able to check in so we had to chase that. When it arrived it was absolutely disgusting. Filthy and full of holes on the side nets and the mattress, full of vomit stains and god knows what else. We called down for another which they bought to us which was in the same condition. I went down to complain this time and they eventually went out and bought a new one. We weren't told when we checked in that weddings were gapping all weekend. ( we stayed Thursday to Sunday) on Thursday night our 2 families were kept up until 3am because of the wedding party and the noise outside their rooms. Friday was our naming day (not at the hotel) so they started their day exhausted! We realised that morning that we had not been given any information when we'd checked in other than what lift to use so we knew nothing of times for breakfast or where to go. For ease we did have breakfast at the hotel which was not worth the £11. It was a greasy buffet in a very dark seedy looking room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Water and noise plus lights!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
There was no cold water. Both taps were hit which the hotel were aware of. The main lights in the room did not work and we were kept awake till 2 in the morning from revellers shouting and swearing in the terrace- no control or thoughts for other guests from the night staff serving the drinks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent

Posted Jul 20, 2016
100% Execellent with some of the best staff I have come a crossed this year, Rooms are lovely a silent nights sleep with all the windows open, very quite relaxing place, very highly recommended
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Ein schönes altes Hotel am Meer. Unser Zimmer aber war dunkel, mit einem kleinen Fenster mit Ausblick auf ein Baugerüst!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LONDON

PITY ABOUT REFURBISHMENT WORKS DURING OUR STAY

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: QUIET LOCATION, OLD FASHIONED CHARM.
Cons: SHOULD BE FINE, ONCE REFURBISHMENT AND REDECORATION WORK IS COMPLETED PROVIDING THIS INCLUDES THE BAR AREA.
Location: GOOD CHOICE OF LOCAL RESTAURANTS.
CHARACTER VICTORIAN HOTEL. FRIENDLY STAFF. OUR ONE NIGHT STAY WAS SLIGHTLY SPOILED DUE TO SCAFFOLDING ACROSS OUR WINDOW AND AN AWFUL DRAIN SMELL IN THE BATHROOM. WE PRESUME THERE WAS NOTHING THE HOTEL COULD DO ABOUT EITHER SINCE REFURBISHMENT WORK WAS GOING ON. OUR STAY STILL REPRESENTED GOOD VALUE ALTHOUGH THE BREAKFAST PRICE SEEMED SOMEWHAT EXPENSIVE COMPARED WITH THE ACCOMODATION RATE, PERHAPS AN 'INCLUSIVE' OFFER COULD IMPROVE THIS PERCEPTION.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Overnight stay

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Location and room facilities
Staff at reception were very welcoming and apologetic re a slight delay in check in. Whilst the room was fine, clean and comfortable, its location on the ground floor, with no view except on to a brick wall surrounded by scaffolding was far from desirable. It was convenient for an overnight stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

central location

Posted Jun 21, 2016
old fashioned hotel. Dark and dreary. Restaurant average.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Beautiful rooms very nice staff
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Well situated on the Leas
I have stayed in this hotel before. I think it is the nicest in Folkestone.