Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel ideal weekend break location

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Room was clean Shower was not bad. Bathroom door did not close with ease. It was quite and easy to find. Staff were friendly
Cons: Not being able to get food Friday evening when we arrived
Location: Went for a walk by the sea but did not have time for more as we had gone down to Kent for a wedding
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Great family room and seafront location

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Great for cycling and walking around Folkestone and the local area - we cycled along the coast and the Military Canal to Hythe.
The Burlington has an old world charm with incredibly friendly staff, clean and well presented facilities, and a tasty breakfast. We loved our family room which felt very newly renovated and spacious (we opted for the slightly more expensive choice). Only negative was there was nowhere to store 3 bikes (or park a car with a bike rack on the back) but there was on street parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Very clean hotel. Stayed one night in a double standard room. Not very big room, however, perfectly adequate, lovely ensuite. Got up early so did not sample the breakfast. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Hotel was great but very noisy due to party would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Nice clean hotel, looks like rooms have been recently renovated to a good standard. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southern England

Booked for convenience for channel tunnel.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Forgien staff had either limited English or deliberately unhelpful. No restaurant the evening we arrive and breakfast too late for our channel booking. Booked for wheel chair access.... steep steps to front door and room on 3rd floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cambridgeshire

Very disappointing

Posted Jul 24, 2016
We stayed here for 3 nights for our sons naming day weekend. On arrival we could t check in (we were early at 11.30am so that's fine) we left our bags and came back later with2 of our family parties. We all checked in as a wedding was underway. We had to wait to go to our room because they couldn't get our bags as one receptionist was late for work. We got to our room to find we had no cotbed for baby which we had ordered in advance and also checked when we had arrived and not been able to check in so we had to chase that. When it arrived it was absolutely disgusting. Filthy and full of holes on the side nets and the mattress, full of vomit stains and god knows what else. We called down for another which they bought to us which was in the same condition. I went down to complain this time and they eventually went out and bought a new one. We weren't told when we checked in that weddings were gapping all weekend. ( we stayed Thursday to Sunday) on Thursday night our 2 families were kept up until 3am because of the wedding party and the noise outside their rooms. Friday was our naming day (not at the hotel) so they started their day exhausted! We realised that morning that we had not been given any information when we'd checked in other than what lift to use so we knew nothing of times for breakfast or where to go. For ease we did have breakfast at the hotel which was not worth the £11. It was a greasy buffet in a very dark seedy looking room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Water and noise plus lights!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
There was no cold water. Both taps were hit which the hotel were aware of. The main lights in the room did not work and we were kept awake till 2 in the morning from revellers shouting and swearing in the terrace- no control or thoughts for other guests from the night staff serving the drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent

Posted Jul 20, 2016
100% Execellent with some of the best staff I have come a crossed this year, Rooms are lovely a silent nights sleep with all the windows open, very quite relaxing place, very highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

PITY ABOUT REFURBISHMENT WORKS DURING OUR STAY

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: QUIET LOCATION, OLD FASHIONED CHARM.
Cons: SHOULD BE FINE, ONCE REFURBISHMENT AND REDECORATION WORK IS COMPLETED PROVIDING THIS INCLUDES THE BAR AREA.
Location: GOOD CHOICE OF LOCAL RESTAURANTS.
CHARACTER VICTORIAN HOTEL. FRIENDLY STAFF. OUR ONE NIGHT STAY WAS SLIGHTLY SPOILED DUE TO SCAFFOLDING ACROSS OUR WINDOW AND AN AWFUL DRAIN SMELL IN THE BATHROOM. WE PRESUME THERE WAS NOTHING THE HOTEL COULD DO ABOUT EITHER SINCE REFURBISHMENT WORK WAS GOING ON. OUR STAY STILL REPRESENTED GOOD VALUE ALTHOUGH THE BREAKFAST PRICE SEEMED SOMEWHAT EXPENSIVE COMPARED WITH THE ACCOMODATION RATE, PERHAPS AN 'INCLUSIVE' OFFER COULD IMPROVE THIS PERCEPTION.