Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

Close to city centre and shops.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Big room with seating area, and en-suite shower room. Good breakfast, with plenty of choice, in a large roomy dining room.
Location: Plenty to do. Large shopping centre, Cathedral and Museum. Places to visit nearby are Howletts Animal Park, Wildwood Trust and Wingham Wildlife Park.
Lovely hotel, with friendly, helpful staff. Within walking distance of city centre and shops. Free parking on site, which is rare in Canterbury. Good choice of food at breakfast time. My partner wasn't well, so asked for porridge and scrambled eggs, which they provided happily and speedily, which was served in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GOOD HOTEL CLOSE TO CITY CENTRE

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: THE STAFF WERE VERY HELPFUL.
Cons: THE BEDS WERE VERY HARD AND COULD DO WITH REPLACING.
Location: CANTERBURY KENT. VISIT THE CITY AND THE CATHEDRAL
GOOD HOTEL, HELPED US TO ENJOY A MUCH NEEDED HOLIDAY.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely town,lovely quite little hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2016
I spent 2 nights in November in this lovely hotel. It's not in the centre but not so far away; only 15 minutes walk. It's a nice place, quiet and peaceful. The room is larger than average for UK hotels and offers the normal facilities.The staff are really good: nice people, kind and helpful.They looked after me and my son very well. Breakfast is great, plenty of natural food and typical English breakfast depends on what you want. Price not bad, a bit expensive but reasonable considering UK prices in general. I'm very happy with Castle House Hotel and I definitely recommend it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Location. Half an hours walk into ventral Canterbury.
Cons: As above
We were given a room in the coach house. Avoid if possible. the room was cramped although clean but the walls are paper thin and we were badly disturbed by a group of revellers who rolled in drunk and loud at quarter to four in the morning. They were equally noisy at 10 before they left for whatever revellry they were goint to and did not quiten down in spite of the receptionist asking them to do so. In addition the hot water ran out and the wifi did not work so we were not a pair of happy campers. The staff is very nice and try their best but the hotel is a two star at best. On a positive note the breakfast was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location .... with off street parking !

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Off-street parking, closeness to amenities, friendly staff.
Cons: We found the bed way too firm for a restful sleep. Hot water in shower was erratic.
Location: Good range of places to eat in town. Cathedral is a must see.
In a town like Canterbury off street parking was a bonus so close to the town centre. Room was very clean. Easy 10min walk to Cathedral. Staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel, super-excellent staff

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Clean, pleasant, and convenient. Really couldn't ask for more. But, if you're asking for more, the staff will attempt to get it for you. They definitely went out of their way for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Great location.

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Spacious well appointed room in a great location.
Cons: Perhaps bedding as my wife complained that the mattress was uncomfortable.
Location: Cathedral, abbey, museum all worth a visit. Plenty of food and hotel options. Historical buildings, park, made walks interesting.
A short walk from Canterbury tourist attractions and town centre. Good parking on site. Comfortable, large, well appointed room. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. TV didn't work for us on the first night and water in shower was tepid. Reported this to manager and both problems were fixed for our second night's stay. Ladies reported that both beds were a little hard and lumpy. fine for me. Plenty to see and do in Canterbury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Old city center charm

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Excellent, free off-street free parking. Extensive, included breakfast, nice bedding.
Cons: Larger bathroom
Location: In the old city center - no need to drive for shops, restaurants and historic places of interest.
Fast check-in, friendly staff. Our original room was not ready, they immediately switched us to another room - just as nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

lovely quiet hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: it was quiet and not to large
Location: close to the town, restaurants theaters etc
we wanted a quiet night away, close to restaurants and shops etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Small hotel close to Canterbury city centre

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Perhaps the bar area could be improved, not especially welcoming. We took the drinks we had ordered to our room.
Location: Very close to Canterbury Cathedral , lots of quaint shops to browse
We had a one night stay at the hotel. There is limited parking on site, but we were able to park very close to the hotel and subsequently move into hotel car park when previous nights guests had checked out. It was lovely to be so close to the city centre. Our room which was in an annex to the hotel was very comfortable. Breakfast was promptly served , with ample choice.