Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solid and quiet for a good nights rest

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Good bed, every thing that you need for an overnight stay. Breakfast decent and pleasant people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Downsview - Very friendly and pleasant owners.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Quiet and good value.
Location: Not walking distance to town centre but near enough if you want to drive in. There is a place to eat just 3 minutes walk away.
Recommend this place due to good free parking, very friendly, great breakfasts, big comfy beds and room with large TV and desk. Clean and tidy, Bar. Stayed for 4 nights while working locally.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Traditional Guest House Close to Channel Ports

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Well located and easy to find. Nice grounds, well maintained. Warm welcome. Clean room, well equipped with TV and drink-making supplies.
Cons: Water pressure was low but power shower overcame this. We enjoyed the freshly cooked full English breakfast but a buffet format would speed service.
Location: Close to Ashford so ideal for overnighting before or after channel crossing. Great base for visiting East Kent (Canterbury, Dover Castle etc).
We needed a place to stay for a local wedding and a search on-line took me to a great last-minute offer at Downsview. It proved to be the ideal solution with more traditional British character than the usual budget chains. Warm welcome and responsive staff. We had a surprisingly large room with a generous en-suite bathroom. Quiet surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Excellent Character House in lovely setting

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: There was a kitchen for guests to use if appropriate, also spotless. Lounge available any time, very casual and comfortable.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Lovely setting but as it was only a short stay did not get around the local area.
Only stayed one night after a wedding - very nice ground floor bedroom overlooking fields having a large garden for visitor use. Very clean room and en-suite shower room, breakfast absolutely first class. Owners very helpful and made us welcome. Would definitely stay again if in the area. Recommended to our friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester

Excellent comfortable stopover

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Welcome break after gruelling journey around M25 for adult family attending local family function
4 out of 5
by Duncan from Staffordshire

Great for an overnight chunnel stop.

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Just what was required for an overnight before channel tunnel in the morning. It was nice to sit out in the garden in the sunshine. Proprietors kindly called to say they had found our kindle before we even realised that we had left it behind.
5 out of 5
by Laura

Wonderful gem, amazing owners

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Downs view is a fantastic place to stay in Ashford. The owners are brilliantly helpful, the gardens and scenery are breathtaking, the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast has a great selection. Definitely the place to stay!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Ideal for an overnight stay before traveling by Eurostar from Ashford.
5 out of 5
by Tatiana from Россия

Very-very nice Guest House!

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely guest house, suitable for a long stay. My friend and I lived here for 9 nights. Friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean, as the cleaning was every day. Towel were changed every day on request. Very soft and comfortable large bed. Our room was on ground floor so had a lovely view from the window onto the lawn and fields. The room had a kettle and a selection of coffee, tea and hot chocolate. It was very cute and nice to find every day a delicious tea biscuits. There is also Ironing Board, iron, Trouser press, Hairdryer, fridge, TV. Was sometimes weak Wi-Fi, but if you get out of the room into the dining room, the signal was strong. I especially want to mention a full English Breakfast and coffee. All the products were fresh and was served hot. It was very tasty and satisfying. It has large selection of butter, cheese, jam, fruit to coffee. Nearby is a restaurant where you can go to dinner. Here is a very beautiful place and nice to walk around the neighborhood before bed. Near the hotel there is a bus stop and close to Ashford International railway station, very convenient to go anywhere! I will stay here next time.