Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Walmer Kent

SURPRISE 85TH BIRTHDAY TREAT

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: No.
Location: We were there for one night and are in our 80's so were not interested in the locality.
The trip was a great success the lunch was beautiful, the room excellent and we will be going back in Summer to see the grounds which were shrouded in fog this visit,
5 out of 5
by Bernard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Lee from Bromley

Just ok!

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Ok, very expensive for room. Carpet dirty and shower not very powerful.
4 out of 5
by Margaret from Whitstable

A Treat for The Weeknd.

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
My daughter and I stayed for a night to celebrate her 30th birthday. The hotel itself was lovely., the spa facilities were excellent. The only things to let down our stay was poor service in The Pavilon ( we waited half an hour for a tea and hot chocolate - the waiter apologised and didn't charge us. Also, we ate there in the evening and my course was brought out before my daughter's , without my side dish and I had to eat it before it got cold, therefore finishing it before the rest of the food arrived). They were very short staffed. The other thing. - one of my quality tests - was that the toast made from ready sliced bread was provided for what was otherwise a superb breakfast. I think uncut loaves ( proper bread) should be used.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible place/staff

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
The staff were awful. They talked amongst themselves all the time. Their accents were put on with the customers especially the breakfast staff. Entire gym/spa area closed up at 9. Nothing to do except sit in the bar with an obnoxious bar man who didn't want to serve and insisted on telling you the bar closing time. A real horrible experience with staff that went out of their way to make you feel uncomfortable. Hated it will NEVER go back or recommend this place.
3 out of 5
by Roger

It' the little things that matter.

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
The situation of the hotel is amazing-peaceful , relaxing and elegant grounds well maintained. The pools are the only thing worth going for. The rooms are tidied not hovered. Sometimes the coffee is replaced, sometimes you get a new piece of shortbread, and sometimes you get towels! When you bring it to the front desk's attention they write it down, say we will look into that and that is it. Breafast is good when you request it to be hot but if you do not is ony tepid. The Pavilion is dire. The food and the service. I went for a beer and sandwich was taken to the table and given the menu. I finished the Telegraph and left after waiting 25 minutes with no attention. Returning to the main hotel I was served quickly and the cost of the sandwich was less than the Pavilion. The front desk apologised for the Pavilion but that was it. The main dinning room is a little tired and need attention to the curtains etc and if you do not take the simple menu at £35 every item on the a la carte is extra by a mile. We twice in one week as we needed to be in that part of Kent but would never go there again. The lack of interest in the staff was sad and weddings seem to get thier full attention.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from |Dorset

One night stay

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Beautiful setting
Cons: More frontline staff and better communication between staff.
Location: we went to True-Grip off road experience
We stayed one night in one of the mews cottages. The cottage had plenty of space for a couple. Décor was nice but a little tired in places. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was lovely but they appeared to be understaffed so the staff they had seemed under pressure. Didn't get chance to try any of the on site facilities unfortunately.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

Three night break in a Mews Cottage

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy to travel to Canterbury and seaside resorts. Close to Ashford Shopping Outlet. Chilwell is well worth a visit.
Great facilities and lovely grounds. I found all the staff to be helpful. Cottage a little tired in places but this did not bother me. Location was good and easy to get to local attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Building, gardens, food excellent; service poor

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Food (but not the service), building, gardens, swimming pool, spa.
Cons: Service - simply have a manager in the restaurant coordinating the staff rather than having 10 headless chickens. Clean the rooms.
Beautiful building and gardens, nice spa with a large indoor pool, restaurant food is excellent. Unfortunately the quality of service is poor - they are polite and trying hard, but totally inept. Breakfast takes an hour at least numerous guests complaining about lack of service, slowness of orders, missing buffet items. We waited an hour to be told they'd lost our order despite being reassured that it was on it's way - many guests had this experience. Waiters seemed to be working in the kitchen more than waiting tables. We were in the Mews - tiny bedrooms but spacious living area with a kitchen. All decoration looks tired. Bathrooms tiny. Plumbing poor. Not kept as clean as it should be (our pet spiders - 10+ of them stayed unchallenged all weekend). The place could be so much better with efficient management and an eye to detail.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth from Tonbridge

Amazing

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
This was an amazing silver anniversary stay - the hotel was lovely and the evening meal was superb. We really enjoyed the atmosphere will definitely be coming back for another stay.