Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view, clean room and enough facilities

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Breakfast wasn't good. Limited choice. If the hotel provide a good lunch we was happy to eat in side but we travel to eat outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Beautiful Hotel and Grounds

Posted May 13, 2017
Location: Not a very walkable location except for local trails but this was part of the charm. Relatively secluded and an absolutely beautiful setting.
We were very impressed with the character of the hotel and especially the english gardens with lots of activities for everyone. Indoor, outdoor pools, croquet, golf, putting green, spa etc. The room was spacious and perfect for the period of the hotel. The only thing that kept us from giving an overall rating of 5 was our experience at breakfast. Overall the staff were very pleasant with one exception, apparently we were the only ones who had ordered a continental breakfast and as a result the staff seemed offended. They were curt in telling us what we could and couldn't eat from the buffet. When we ordered tea for two it didn't arrive. When I asked for the tea again, it was delivered with a huff... otherwise a wonderful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning grounds in a beautiful location

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Wonderful stay in an amazing Mews cottage. Everything provided, we couldn't have asked for more. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by Christine from North Wales

could do better

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Good things Beautiful location Stunning building Beautiful grounds Lovely mews buildings 'Room' included use of sitting room/kitchenette area in same private mews cottage Very peaceful Heating could be easily controlled to personal preference and windows could be opened as wanted. Easy access to fast wifi connection. Not such good things Spa was unavailable - this was not clear at the time of booking The room itself was small and very 'tired' - it looked as if it was last refurbished many years ago and even the bath robes looked several years old The shower was good but impossible to angle as needed, so it hit the wall above my head and was difficult to use We were given far too little tea, coffee and milk; I specifically requested more before we went out the first day but we returned to find no tea or milk at all in our accommodation. (On asking again we were brought fresh milk, tea bags and coffee sachets - thank you). On 4 occasions of Friday and Saturday I phoned reception and got no response at all. Breakfast was poor. The coffee on day 1 was not pleasant so I ordered tea on the second day. That eventually arrived overbrewed and so stuffed with tea leaves it would hardly come out of the teappot. Very unpleasant. When we went for breakfast at 9:30 on Saturday there was very little of the continental breakfast left: no yogurt, no pastries, even though we had been told breakfast was served until 10:30
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

The hotel is in a lovely location and is peaceful

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Drinks are really expensive and could be cheaper
Location: Did not need to visit the local area
We Love this hotel and had been here 3 times in the last 3 months. However this time the attention to detail was not as good as before. No milk in the room, or enough coffee, tea and biscuits. At Dinner the roast potatoes were missing and had to be brought later in a bowl.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with lots of character.

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Food was great and staff friendly. Bed and room clean and comfy. Highlight was the welcome and check out. Receptionist was amazing. Efficient and had a great chat. Fantastic for someone who spends most of there time alone on the road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely old hotel but not really a good spa break

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Beautiful old building
Cons: Communication from the staff
Location: We stayed in the hotel but there are pubs and nice towns nearby....e.g. Faversham
Hotel is lovely but the spa facilities are disparate so you have to make an effort to get full use of what's on offer. The spa is being upgraded by Champneys and there was no real information at the hotel or from the staff about the changes. My friend and I didn't realise that the facilities on offer were temporary until the end of our stay which meant that we were disappointed. Had we known about the changes our expectations would have been adjusted accordingly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: It's setting.
Cons: Honesty
Location: NA
When booked we weren't told that the pool area was being refurbished. Had we known we wouldn't of booked! Reception said that's why they are not telling people!! Breakfast had items missing from those stated on the menu? We have stayed here many times, just found this time alittle disappointing, sad. The open fire in entrance is nice but the whole place was very smokey and set the fire alarm off in the room! My card was swiped at check in, when I was told nothing was taken off, it was in case we booked anything to the room, fair enough. But actually £25 was taken, but not refunded for 4 days?
5 out of 5
by Colin

Birthday[s] treat

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Room and hotel very good. Old building and old style. Wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Patrick

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing, beautiful,full of character and atmosphere.Wonderful grounds and countryside. Excellent service.