Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning grounds in a beautiful location

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Wonderful stay in an amazing Mews cottage. Everything provided, we couldn't have asked for more. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

The hotel is in a lovely location and is peaceful

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Drinks are really expensive and could be cheaper
Location: Did not need to visit the local area
We Love this hotel and had been here 3 times in the last 3 months. However this time the attention to detail was not as good as before. No milk in the room, or enough coffee, tea and biscuits. At Dinner the roast potatoes were missing and had to be brought later in a bowl.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely old hotel but not really a good spa break

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Beautiful old building
Cons: Communication from the staff
Location: We stayed in the hotel but there are pubs and nice towns nearby....e.g. Faversham
Hotel is lovely but the spa facilities are disparate so you have to make an effort to get full use of what's on offer. The spa is being upgraded by Champneys and there was no real information at the hotel or from the staff about the changes. My friend and I didn't realise that the facilities on offer were temporary until the end of our stay which meant that we were disappointed. Had we known about the changes our expectations would have been adjusted accordingly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: It's setting.
Cons: Honesty
Location: NA
When booked we weren't told that the pool area was being refurbished. Had we known we wouldn't of booked! Reception said that's why they are not telling people!! Breakfast had items missing from those stated on the menu? We have stayed here many times, just found this time alittle disappointing, sad. The open fire in entrance is nice but the whole place was very smokey and set the fire alarm off in the room! My card was swiped at check in, when I was told nothing was taken off, it was in case we booked anything to the room, fair enough. But actually £25 was taken, but not refunded for 4 days?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old Manor House

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Stunning ground and gardens. Lovely, friendly staff. Delicious food. Recommended!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Gym and pool closed!

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: The breakfast here is excellent
Cons: Some foem of notice would have been good as we would have booked elsewhere with a gym and pool
Upon arrival we were informed the Gym, pool and more relaxed resturant were closed. These were the facilities we ctually wanted to use so we were disappointed. We were told an email should have been sent but like all the other guests we spoke to this was not the case, we weren't offered any solution to these issues and the welcome letter hadn't even been changed to apologise or acknowlegde the issue.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable hotel.

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very willing,capable and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely beautiful place. Very warm & welcoming with delightful, friendly staff, we all felt thoroughly spoilt and didn't want to leave, such a gorgeous tranquil place. A really lovely stay, heavenly!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recently taken over, let's hope it gets spruced up

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
A little tired in all the public areas. More attention could be paid to service, across all areas (reception, restaurant, leisure facilities), these were not sufficiently welcoming and there was rather a view presented of: "you'll love it here because it's great", rather than "welcome, what can we do to make your stay great." If I had been paying the full rack rate I would have thought this wasn't particularly great value for money. The breakfast certainly wasn't of a good enough quality for the type of place this is.