Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location in the country.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Location in the country.
Cons: Minor plumbing problems.
Location: Out in the country-it's so beautiful there.
Very nice and accommodating owners. Nice location in the country.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Really nice people, cozy little old house in a very quite and relaxing area
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You DON'T EXIST After you Check Out!

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Quiet since it's in the boonies. I can't say enough how unfriendly these guys turn on guests when they pay up the next day!
Cons: Owners should take lessons in customer service and not be so obvious that they dislike the B&B business and do it only for the money.
Location: It's out of the way from anywhere. You will need to take a cab (15 quid) to get to the town or cruise ship port (which is why most come to this town)
Older couple who run B&B have TWO FACES. Smiling when you check-in, hugely unfriendly when you check-out! If you're waiting for a cab or want to hang out an hour after check-out, they WON'T let you hang out anywhere inside....even in the "B&B Lobby"! They put you into the front yard while your waiting for anything or anyone. And it was cold the morning we were exposed. You can see the guy is anti-social and view you as a paycheck nuisance....it certainly wasn't an "us" issue but "them" issue as I witnessed the SAME BEHAVIOR with ALL guests. B&B has some charm but should be AVOIDED due to the unfriendly curmudgeons running the place. Your money is best spent elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Dover castle and port

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Quiet.
Cons: Shower. Tissues in the room.
Location: Dover castle, etc.
The cottage, which is B&B Fathingloe, is located away from the main habitation area of Dover, on a track of land that only a few years ago housed barracks of workers involved in the construction of the Chunnel (so we were told by the hosts). No traces of those barracks remain, the track of land looks like long green fields hemmed in by the road on the one side and a rising earth bank on the other, but a special road was built off the highway to lead there. It is now a private road closed off by a barrier that needs to be moved by hand if one wants to enter. Not a problem in itself, unless you had not been warned about that, arrive in the dark and it's pouring rain... The sign for a turn-off to B&B is also non-existent. We relied on the navigator, but still got it wrong. We were the only guests on Saturday night, but perhaps not a surprise in the middle of January. Welcomed by the hosts with tea and cake, but a little too much of conversation upon arrival. The room (superior en-suite) was spacious, but furnishings decidedly dated. Clean. No television. No tissues. One soap bar and one shampoo. The shower did not work, so we had to put up with separate hot and cold water taps for the bath tub and sink. We arrived late, so decided not to bother the hosts about the shower... but we did miss it on a cold winter night. Slept okay, despite the terrific storm outside. The breakfast was alright, but nothing to write home about. Your regular English fare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little B&B with lots of personality

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Cons: The only improvement would be a softer mattress, the one we had was too firm.
Wonderful B&B, attentive and friendly hosts, great breakfast choices as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Freiburg, Germany

Nice B&B in beautiful setting

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Friendly couple with a big old house :) Room size was good, not stuffy. Bed comfortable. Not ensuite: long walk to shared bathroom. Breakfast times: 7.30 - 10.00, we needed at 7, they made us tiny packed breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from N5028 W03320

Great for Dogs and channel crossings.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Wonderful, and convenient location. Lovely couple running it. Great full English breakfast.
Cons: Family rooms would be better as en-suite, other than that, don't change a thing.
Location: Catch a ferry!
Travelling from Devon to Eastern France with a family of 3 and 2 dogs! We needed to find somewhere to break the journey with an overnight stop before the early morning ferry across. Did a Google for dog friendly B&B's and this one popped up. 2 dogs and a Thomas (our son) no problem, just off the A20 and a 10 minute drive to the port in the morning! Rates were good too! So we thought why not? And what a little gem it turned out to be! Lovely location, great house and a fabulous couple running it. Nothing was too much trouble, even down to a 'flexible' breakfast time in the morning so we could get away for the ferry. The house is located in a huge area of open land, which we later found out was where the channel tunnel workers village was during construction. Now fortunately returned to countryside, the dogs were in heaven. They could charge around til their hearts content without worrying about cars and traffic - wonderful. The rooms were very clean and cosy, although my one (little) gripe would be that the family rooms aren't en-suite, it's a communal bathroom down the hall. But other than that minor inconvenience, it was a very welcome and enjoyable stay. So much so that we booked it for the return trip too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good B&B

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Very friendly people, good breakfast, nice location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First class B&B

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: decor, breakfast.
Location: White Cliffs of Dover - Say no more!
really classy B&B with welcoming and attentive proprietors. Pleasant surroundings and wide open views.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Farthingloe, Kent, Royaume-Uni

cher pour un confort minimal

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Cons: signalisation depuis la route, balisage. une salle de bain par chambre et toilettes séparées.
Difficile de trouver cet établissement de nuit (mal signalé,route privée fermée par une barrière, non éclairée, indications lacunaires de notre interlocuteur. Salle de bain très sommaire : toilettes auxquelles on a ajouté une douche, lavabo étriqué car il s'agit du lave main, salle de bain commune pour nos deux chambres (perte de temps le matin, impossible d'utiliser les toilettes quand une des 4 personnes prenait sa douche). Petit déjeuner correct.