Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: it was close to the city center and easy to find.
Cons: Staff could smile more. Breakfast room could be more colorful and friendlier and it's toilet should be repaired. Curtains to rooms windows.
Location: good location, next to the city center and walking distance to the beach.
It's was possible to arrive late without extra charge. Location was ok for a 2 nights stay and it was very easy to find as well as very close to the city centre. My room was very small, but ok for my stay. It would have been nice to have a curtain on my room's small window.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hostel Alma

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel a few times. Good Points it is cheap and within good location of local bus and train services. There is good self-service kitchen facilities including a kettle, Microwave with free tea/coffee. Bad points It is next to a main road which can be loud at night. The rooms are very basic and the television did not work in my room. My room smelt bad but i could not work out why. There was also not enough pillows.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The room was ok for the price we paid and also included a very small breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: didn't go to any.
stairs to all rooms very steep lights went out before got to the top and was very dark when lights out, stair carpet dirty windows were filthy as it was a warm night and very hot and stuffy in the room you had to have the window open and it was very noisy, breakfast was poor burnt soggy toast , and a horrid smell in dining room.no off road parking. really spoilt the start of holiday , Thank goodness next one was in France.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Move out

Posted Aug 31, 2016
This was so bad that I found alternative accommodation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Sandra B from Miami

It was lower than my already low expectations

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
I knew not to expect much because it is a Hostel, but I didn't know that we would have to go up so many stairs carrying all our luggage so that was extremely difficult for me and my daughter. I think that should have been disclosed in advance. My daughter didn't feel safe so we didn't venture out for long. We only stayed here because we were going to the Port the next morning and all the hotels were all booked a month beforehand.
2 out of 5
by Ian from Dover

Ok value for money.

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
room was clean although a bit small, was like sleeping in a static caravan size wise! good service and friendly staff, ideal for a brief stay,(one night). cheap n cheerful!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice Hotel

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: distance to the locations I want to visit.
Cons: narrow stairs
Location: Dover Castle, White Cliffs of Dover, Roman Painted House and the sea are near.
If you want an affordable place to stay and you are not picky, this hotel suites you. The staff are accommodating and friendly. The location of the hotel is ideal; it is near the town center and a walking distance to the train station; has a gasoline station and SPAR just opposite. However, the stairs are narrow.
1 out of 5
by leo jones from Boston, Ma

neither hotel nor hostel

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
barely passable as a hostel, let alone a hotel. bargain stay? it depends on what you consider one. i hardly ever write reviews of places I stay, but this place was just not what we expected. true, our experience could have been unusual but we find it hard to believe. despite what photos show, no way of checking in, broken bath fixtures, broken tv, broken kitchen fixtures. if all you wanna do is spend one night here we still say go somewhere else