Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted May 10, 2017
Great stay, worth the price. We even got a dressing gown and slippers. Little fridge in room stack with drinks wow. Was worth the stay wish we could stay longer
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy due to work being done! Wouldn't stay again!

Posted Apr 29, 2017
We arrived for a two day stay for our friends wedding. Both nights we were woken up by the noise being done. We woke between 7-8 and when you got in from a wedding at 2 in the morning this was not ideal. The noise was so loud I kept thinking that someone was knocking on the door. Several of our friends were also staying and they had suites even though we paid the same amount and one of my friends room stank of smoke that she moved rooms. Also it seems half the rooms had been done up and we got the old fashioned rooms. The customer service and food was great just shame about the noise and the rooms! However rooms very spacious
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nothing like advertised

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Booked a standard double room but when we arrived we're given a room on the 3rd floor (which hasn't been refurbished in what looks like 20/30 years). Spoke to manager and explained the state of the room (stained ceilings, ripped wallpaper chipped paint etc) and was told that all they had available was another room on the same unfurnished floor where room as better but still not 4 or even 3 star standard. Had to barter with manager for over 2 hours to get an upgrade that cost us an extra £100 with no apology for the state of the first two rooms. Showed manager pictures of rooms as they were advertised and compared these to what we were given and still no apology with only an upgrade at an additional fee offered. When I explained that I wanted a refund if nothing could be done, was told I booked through Expedia so "I'd have to deal with them". However after this rest of staff friendly especially in the on site Restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for the Euro Tunnel, great views

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We used the hotel as a stop over for an early Euro Tunnel crossing. Location perfect for this, and we were able to walk into town for something to eat. Pleasantly surprised and would use hotel for a nice long weekend break.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Just ok

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Fresh looking on the outside but a little tired on the inside, particularly paintwork. They've worked on the restaurant and champagne bar which is nice but not cheap. Friendly staff Saturday night and couldn't get a coffee in bar at 10pm, restaurant wouldnt let us have one in there either, yet they still had customers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renovating Hotel near beach

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Food and friendly staff
Cons: Cleanliness, water pressure and furniture on 3rd floor
Stayed here many times when owned by Mercure. It is being renovated currently so on arriving we had loud noises until 5pm. We were stuck in a dirty room on 3rd floor, filthy shower with virtually no water pressure. Saving grace were friendly staff and excellent Restaurant. Very, very dissapointed, unfortunately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

We love this Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Upgraded to a newly refurbished room. Room 105 and it was beautifully done. From this room the view out of the window resembled a rubbish tip as they are doing work, but other than that it was a very enjoyable stay. The swimming pool and sauna was lovely and we never ate at the Hotel as we personally thought it was a bit overpriced. Enjoyed the breakfast in the morning, and the staff were all very friendly and professional. We shall definitely be returning but will ask for a room higher up as the last time we stayed we had a lovely view out to the sea. Seriously the view from this window was not good.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Dated room

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Our room was very dated, carpet full of stains, paint peeling off the ceiling and blistered by the windows. Furnishing in the 60s. Great leisure facilities and gym.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good view of the sea

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Building work on the floor above our room started some mornings before 8am and was extremely noisy for best part of the day. Room should have been checked for noise before it was booked
5 out of 5
by CHRISTINE

Enjoyable weekend

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay with you very much,would definitely come again.