Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Travelling hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Room staff, comfortable beds, parking and access
Cons: Management need to be more visible and actually see what is going on behind their backs, staff particularly need to be retrained in customer relations
The hotel is quite well situated by the M20 and therefore useful for stop off or as a base for the area, staff vary considerably from friendly, attentive ones to those who are totally disinterested and barely doing what is required. Food was very average of a cafe/ bistro quality yet served by a white gloved waiter, which with the cheapest steel cutlery ever seen and scruffy black uniforms was rather incongrious to say the least. Saw at least three glasses of beer going into the kitchen area. Breakfast was self service clearly cooked for some time with outdoor coated staff coming in helping themselves to food and going into the back room, with total disregard to the guests. Was rather glad to have only been staying the one night. Rooms on the other hand were clean, tidy and comfortable, room staff were pleasant, smiling and keen to please.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Ideal for mini leisure break

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Loved my privilege double room with lake view. It was modern, clean, spacious and warm! I stayed for two nights in February 2017 - the room temperature was just right! I made use of the gym in the Feel Good Health Centre, which is open until 10pm. The general manager (Dominic) and the reception staff member (Rhiannon) went over and above the call of duty, to assist me with my enquiries. The staff in the Health Club and the staff in the restaurant were welcoming and helpful throughout! Would stay here again. P.s. Bearsted and Maidstone train stations are manned and well lit. Hollingbourne train station is not manned and has minimal lighting. If travelling by train with luggage, you might find it helpful to pre-book a taxi to collect you from the station. There is currently no bus service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017
It was a nice experience: friendly and helpful staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ramsgate

Great location, public areas, but dated room

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Downstairs public facilities
Cons: Upgrading the rooms and bathrooms.
Location: Location is perfect for exploring the heart of Kent and gaining access to the motorways.
We stayed for 1 night. Downstairs facilities were of a high class. Walking to the rooms was like going through a maze with very little mapping. Room was extremely small, cold and dated. Shower facilities were in a chipped bath, with luke warm water and no presssure. The room spoilt our experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Large and comfortable room, lovely restaurant

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Large and comfortable room. We loved being provided with dressing gown and slippers!!
Location: Within spitting distance of the splendid Leeds Castle, which we visited during our stay.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would happily stay there again. The room was large, with good facilities, and the bed comfortable. The hotel has a lovely restaurant where we enjoyed a delicious meal. The restaurant adds 10% service charge, but we always tip anyway so I just treated that as our tip. The service was excellent, friendly and polite, so they deserved a good tip!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eat Out

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Very spacious room with big screen TV if that's what grabs your attention.
Cons: Large double bed was two ill-fitting singles pushed together with an uncomfortable "dip" in the middle. The restaurant was expensive but as the hotel is a little way from the nearest village I opted to eat there, only to be told that the restaurant was full and that I should have booked (before I even arrived not knowing what time I would get there!!) Pathetic. I drove for ten minutes and had a just as good and way cheaper supper at a pub in Sutton Valence.
Location: Location is good for Leeds Castle and Lenham is a beautiful village but otherwise only a stop-off for Maidstone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Staff were friendly. Breakfast was great. Room was clean and good wifi signal. Excellent place when visiting the Kent area!
Cons: Toilet resevoir takes a long time to replenish which does have its issues with two staying in the room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was lovely. Huge choice of fresh food and drinks.
Cons: Noise and shower was freezing, limited hot water.
Location: Taxi are too expensive to go out
My room was clean, and staff were polite. Showers were freezing seems like very minimum hot water. Corridor seemed very noisy, could hear people at all hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Comfortable stay with friendly staff.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The reception staff were helpful and welcoming.
Cons: I arrived by train after dark. It was an easy walk from Hollingbourne station, but more thought could have been given to the pedestrian access.
A very comfortable stay. The room was well proportioned, and with rural views, despite closeness to the motorway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Nice grounds
Cons: Bit dated in parts high bar prices
Location: Leeds castle
Good for price £63 bed comfy room clean modernised other than bathroom no tea making facilties need to add please