Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Fine for a one night stop over

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Hotel was fine for a one night stop over. Good convenient location. In need of some modernising.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for a break

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Lovely break, bonus that we had adjourning rooms when we booked family room. Would definitely stay in the same room again. Small thing- The headboard needs cleaning or replacing, a little off putting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Not the greatest stay. Overall, poor standard of cleanliness and comfort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There is no plugs next to your bed

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: However location is great and easy to reach from M20 and next to Leeds castle.
Cons: Staff to respond for a request sooner than 2 hours & at least to keep a customer informed if service is delaying. General cleanliness MUST be improved
Location: Leeds Castle. Go ape.
There is no plugs next to your bed which caused me a problem to use it while charging. Nevertheless I asked staff to get me an extension lead which took over two hours. There were few pubic hair in the bath. There was a hair pin on the floor which did not belong to me that made me to realize the floor was not vacuum cleaned after the last people stayed in the room. However location is great and easy to reach from M20 and next to Leeds castle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reception Staff Excellent

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Reception Staff and breakfast buffet. Good to have decent sized towels
Cons: Management staff in the restaurant and how they deal with comlaints
The Reception Staff were excellent. The room clean, but overall the hotel is looking a bit tired. We were very disappointed with the standard of the evening meal particularly taking into account the cost. Lovely to have free access to the pool. Breakfast buffet was enjoyable although could have been restocked more quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for site seeing and grat pool

Posted Apr 6, 2017
My only negative comment was there were no grab rails in bathroom which made it difficult for my elderly mother to shower .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Great Danes Hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Clean, tidy and in a beautiful setting. Pleasant staff.
Cons: As a suffer of arthritis I think some rooms should have walk in showers. When booking you should be asked if there are health issues.
Location: Very near Leeds Castle but entrance fee high. Canterbury loverly place to visit. Take a river tour. Look out for hot air balloons
The staff were very welcoming and pleasant although the young lady who served us on Saturday night was a bit pushy on trying to get us to order extra food and stressed repeatedly that our order would take some time to come. The restaurant was very busy. The room was pleasant but badly designed because there was a cupboard which was of not much use and could have not been there, then another bedside cabinet could have been put in as I had no where to put water, iPad or phone. Also boxing in of pipe work along other side of the bed reduced space as well. Food was good but pricey and breakfast, which was self service was very pricey for what was offered. The hotel was clean and tidy. Trying to find the room was a bit hit and miss as layout was bad. Also there was a wedding and our room was noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Midweek Break

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Spa area and the restaurant
Cons: Fresh coat of paint around some places in the hotel wouldn't go a miss
Location: Located close to Leeds Castle (worth a visit) Teapot Island, Rochester Castle and Cathedral, Chatham Dockyard and Shopping outlet at Ashford
Hotel very pleasant would not hesitate to stay again, Out dated decor in some areas but nothing to complain about. A very good location to visit a host of attractions in KENT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from paris

Easy reach of M20 to Channel Tunnel

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Rooms comfortable. Staff friendly. Food good. Although near to main motorway building well insulated and noise was kept to a minimum.
Cons: Signage to car park at reception could be clearer.
Location: Location for travel to Dover and Folkestone very good.
A most convenient location situated near to M20 en route to Folkestone. This hotel was excellent in all aspects and the cleanliness of the rooms was outstanding. Restaurant had a good selection. The staff in the hotel were polite and helpful. I would recommend this hotel without reserve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Nice hotel very quiet beautiful surroundings

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Swimming pool,restaurant had a great variety of food,the room was clean,nothing was too much trouble for the staff
Cons: N/A
Location: Great location,Leeds castle is near yo the hospital,the town centre is only a 10 minute drive
My experience was excellent,I had a family room as I had been in and out of hospital I wanted to have time with my son,the hotel was very clean,great variety of food,staff were very friendly and welcoming,the facilities were superb,my son loved the swimming pool.