Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Disappointing, barking dogs at night, go elsewhere

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing. Most things were acceptable but not likeable.
Cons: Some of the staff need some help with their service and ability to function. Have somewhere quiet to sit/drink for guests that isn't the function bar.
Location: The Dirty Habit in Hollingbourne was excellent. Food and drink spot on. The Pubs in Bearstead were quite nice. Watchout for local taxis. Rip off.
Summary is that everything was just about over the bar for acceptable. But nothing was particularly pleasant. Go elsewhere. Stayed here for a wedding (elsewhere). Everything is functional but nothing more. Rooms were small and functional. Bathroom was tired but clean. Shower plumbing loose from wall but water was hot. This hotel makes a point of being a dog friendly hotel. Whilst I appreciate this, it means that there are dogs in the rooms and whenever someone walks down the corridor at night, the dogs start barking. Breakfast was very greasy and cooked apparently without care. Water in rooms seemed to contain a lot of rust. Only discovered this after drinking quite a bit of it.... Main bar closed in evening leaving us to visit the bar attached to the function rooms. As well as poor drinks selection this was quite an experience due to function happening that seemed to involve in many fight-ey looking men wondering around without their shirts (but with bow tie). Decor was very tired but with a very light effort to polish on top. At one point I found myself down a corridor where the decorating appeared to have just stopped.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Very basic room, too warm and noisy. Hotel quiet tired and a bit run down. Pool and sauna very good though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel, away from home for 4 nights

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: the location of the hotel is very convenient to the M20. and of course Jane, a lovely friendly face each morning I was there.
Location: This hotel is very close to M20 and Maidstone. Also only a skip away from Hollingbourne train station
The staff were very friendly especially Jane in the hospitality suite. Lovely and friendly even when she had started at 6am.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Fine for a one night stop over

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Hotel was fine for a one night stop over. Good convenient location. In need of some modernising.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for a break

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Lovely break, bonus that we had adjourning rooms when we booked family room. Would definitely stay in the same room again. Small thing- The headboard needs cleaning or replacing, a little off putting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Not the greatest stay. Overall, poor standard of cleanliness and comfort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There is no plugs next to your bed

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: However location is great and easy to reach from M20 and next to Leeds castle.
Cons: Staff to respond for a request sooner than 2 hours & at least to keep a customer informed if service is delaying. General cleanliness MUST be improved
Location: Leeds Castle. Go ape.
There is no plugs next to your bed which caused me a problem to use it while charging. Nevertheless I asked staff to get me an extension lead which took over two hours. There were few pubic hair in the bath. There was a hair pin on the floor which did not belong to me that made me to realize the floor was not vacuum cleaned after the last people stayed in the room. However location is great and easy to reach from M20 and next to Leeds castle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reception Staff Excellent

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Reception Staff and breakfast buffet. Good to have decent sized towels
Cons: Management staff in the restaurant and how they deal with comlaints
The Reception Staff were excellent. The room clean, but overall the hotel is looking a bit tired. We were very disappointed with the standard of the evening meal particularly taking into account the cost. Lovely to have free access to the pool. Breakfast buffet was enjoyable although could have been restocked more quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for site seeing and grat pool

Posted Apr 6, 2017
My only negative comment was there were no grab rails in bathroom which made it difficult for my elderly mother to shower .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Great Danes Hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Clean, tidy and in a beautiful setting. Pleasant staff.
Cons: As a suffer of arthritis I think some rooms should have walk in showers. When booking you should be asked if there are health issues.
Location: Very near Leeds Castle but entrance fee high. Canterbury loverly place to visit. Take a river tour. Look out for hot air balloons
The staff were very welcoming and pleasant although the young lady who served us on Saturday night was a bit pushy on trying to get us to order extra food and stressed repeatedly that our order would take some time to come. The restaurant was very busy. The room was pleasant but badly designed because there was a cupboard which was of not much use and could have not been there, then another bedside cabinet could have been put in as I had no where to put water, iPad or phone. Also boxing in of pipe work along other side of the bed reduced space as well. Food was good but pricey and breakfast, which was self service was very pricey for what was offered. The hotel was clean and tidy. Trying to find the room was a bit hit and miss as layout was bad. Also there was a wedding and our room was noisy.