Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A hotel with a great potential but poor value .

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Bedroom was small and was poorly ventilated . There was a cracked tile in the bathroom. Breakfast was adequate, the bar service was good . Poor value for the money spent on this room. This is not a four star hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northants

Well sited & easy to find

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Excellent buffet breakfast, the food was fresh & cooked food was warm, great bacon!
Cons: The decor in the rooms & landings is tired.
Location: We visited Tunbridge Wells specifically to see The Pantiles. Also visited two National Trust sites, Ightam Mote & Sissinghurst Castle.
Friendly & obliging staff who acted promptly to specific requests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in need of a complete redecoration and clean

Posted Aug 19, 2016
After staying for 4 nights and having a few drinks in the bar each night got refused drinks on last night after getting back to the hotel at 11pm, was told they could not expect cash or card payment and because we did not register our card details at the start of our stay we could not charge it to our room, however on the first night of our stay we could pay cash for drinks after 11pm please explain!!!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel did not meet expectations

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The managers approach to customer service and better food quality.
Food was poor quality, Breakfast was the worst I have seen in any hotel, No gym when I was told that they had one. Upon checkout having to wait nearly 20 minutes is not accpetable. The manger who was apparently ion a meeting looked through through a window twice but just ignored those waiting to check out. He left it to one girl to manage 4 or 5 waiting guests. Infact to see him look through the wind then sit back down made it absolutley clear he had not interest in customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by mercure tunbridge wells, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out to post your review of our hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I will be sure to share your review with all my team. I am sorry that you feel that customer service is not a priority as I can assure you that that isn't the case. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectation on this occasion. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future so we can redeem your faith in the service and standard we provide. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Nice hotel, with a great breakfast and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Mercure Tunbridge Wells, Hotel Management
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we all very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Nathan Ruthven, General Manager
5 out of 5
by simon from Brisbane

Lovely quiet hotel with the best breakfast in the

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Attending a family wedding nearby, this stay afforded me relaxation, peace and a quiet comfortable room. The buffet breakfast is incredible - best I've ever had, and the pool and sauna were a great relaxer. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff either.
Comment from Hotel Management
by GM Tunbridge Wells, Hotel Management
Dear Simon Thank you for taking the time out to post your review of our hotel, your feedback is appreciated. I am so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast - what a compliment 'best ever had', thank you. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by Lennart

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by GM Tunbridge Wells, Hotel Management
Dear Lennart Thank you for taking the time out to post your review of our hotel, your feedback is appreciated. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by David from Deal,Kent

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
One night stay to go to a party at the Hop farm, very nice hotel good staff, very good breakfast, enjoyable stay but for noisy people above our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
by GM Tunbridge Wells, Hotel Management
Dear David Thank you for taking the time out to post your review of our hotel, your feedback is appreciated. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by Jeremy from Somerset

Expensive, tired and shabby hotel

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
We stay in hotels every week of the year. This hotel was the biggest disappointment in the last couple of years. Good location on the outskirts of Tunbridge Wells. Initial impression great of the Oast reception. Hotel needs refurbishment, stained and threadbare chairs in the public areas. Room, the bed was comfortable, but the furniture needs replacement. The trouser press did not work, the iron did not plug in, as indicated on the instructions, making ironing a health and safety nightmare! Booked for two people, but there was another bed in the room, all made up and ready? But only one lot of cheap shower gel and soap and only one set of towels out. Booked a "spa" hotel - basic changing room with broken lockers, steam room and jacuzzi not working. The breakfast was quite good, but you had to ask for the buffet to be restocked, if you wanted a full English breakfast and even then the fried bread and potatoes were not. The staff were expressing their opinions out loud of how they hated clearing messy tables and thought it was OK to get themselves a drink and go back to the kitchen, ahead of the hotel guests. The chambermaids had a similar attitude, expecting the guests to get out of their way as they dragged dirty sheets down the corridor - a little customer service training would certainly not go amiss. All this and more was made clear to the receptionist, who said that the General Manager was desperately trying to get the finance to get the hotel refurbished???
Comment from Hotel Management
by GM Tunbridge Wells, Hotel Management
Dear Jeremy Thank you for taking the time out to post your review of our hotel, your feedback is appreciated. I will share your review with my team and we will work together to continue to improve and set measures to rectify your comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by Neil from Gerrards Cross

The good and the not so good

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
The food in the restuarant dissapointing...Not good value at all High prices for very little on the plate [Ceaser Salad/Spinach/Nachos/Duck salad] 10% added to the bill and then credit card slip had facility for extra gratuity ...Probably patrons who don't glance at the actual bill would fill in. Spoke to very friendly and pleasant lady on reception who said she would look into this as it could become an unlawful procedure .Pool was great except hot tub was not too hot.Steam room out of order and I noted tiles broken and misplaced on the walls. Room and friendly staff were super . Thank you Dr Neil Myers
Comment from Hotel Management
by GM Tunbridge Wells, Hotel Management
Dear Neil Thank you for taking the time out to post your review of our hotel, your feedback is appreciated. I will share your comments with my team and I have passed on your comments re the gratuities to my head office for investigation. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, where I am confindent we can better serve you. Sincerely,