Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice place, breakfast could be better

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We stayed in a beautiful room called Amelia. I was worried about the noise of the traffic being situated on the high street but this didn't affect our sleep. Two slight criticisms are the lack of parking and the breakfast provided wasn't to the same standard as the room. My egg and bacon were both underdone and the ingredients used didn't appear to be of a high quality. Overall nice place, very convenient for the wedding we attended at The Swan all be it a little pricey after adding on a disappointing breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Room was finished to a very high standard and nice and clean. Friendly service also. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Lovely quirky hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2017
We had a really nice stay. The room was very quirky and the staff were nice. It was rather cold in our room but there was extra blankets provided in the room. Brilliant location for exploring west malling. We will definitely be back!
1 out of 5
by Peter

Never trust an upgrade!

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
This was NOT a hotel, boutique or otherwise. It was a pub with four rooms. The room we had was cramped, full of oversize furniture, overlooked the main road and the outside drinking area of the pub. Extremely disappointed, especially as this was meant to be a Hotels.com upgrade, because they had double booked the hotel we originally wanted (where we had stayed before) which was considerably better!
4 out of 5
by Paula from Los Gatos

Customer service fabulous

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
It was unseasonably cold for May. I mentioned this and within minutes extra heating was put in my room. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds warm and comfortable. The bathrooms are new and the tubs in the bedroom are deep soak and fill quickly. The owners cannot do enough to ensure your stay is the best it can be. If you go to bed early this may not be the place for you as it is under a public house (nice not rowdy, comfortable to go down on your own and have a drink and not intimidating to walk through - I was a female traveling alone so this is important to me), its all quiet by just past 11. Breakfast has lots of choice and is plentiful starting from 7.30.
3 out of 5
by Jon from Maidstone

disappointed

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Not so great. The room seemed cluttered with over sized furniture, the bed wobbled, the shower was rubbish. But West malling is a nice spot for dinner.
5 out of 5
by Barbara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night at the Joiners

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Information about parking pre visit
Location: Close to Brands Hatch
The room was comfortable and well equipped. The staff were helpful. It was a little noisey, it was a Saturday night. It went very quiet after 11.
3 out of 5
by Tim from Ilkeston

Dont stay in West Malling!

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was fine but there's only 1 hour free parking outside between certain hours & I was given the wrong information about how long you could park at a local high street car park. End result parking ticket! Obviously I appealed this citing the information from the hotel owner as my reason for being there & the duration. Result - rejected! Dont stay in West Malling! There's nowhere to park for extended stays & the local council will delight in rejecting your appeal despite a perfectly valid & reasonable explination. I paid £230 for 2 nights stay & another £80 in local restaurants & bars during this time. Thats £310 this snobbish over rated town will never see again. Found a cheaper place to stay in Ledham just down the M20 from West Malling & guess what...there's plenty of FREE parking!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Not clean, no toilet roll in the room and above a really noisy pub Very expensive for room only