Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Full of character and super friendly

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We loved staying here after our trip to the West House. Everyone was super friendly and the attic room had so much character. The home made breakfast was lovely too. Only critique was that no shower gel was provided.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Visit to Sissinghirst

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Met owner on arrival, very friendly and helpful - took her advice and visited Rye which was wonderful. Diner in pub next door also good. Our room was lovely and spotless and the bed comfy. The breakfast options were extensive and the food and service were great. Will definitely be back to this 16th century little gem!
5 out of 5
by Carole from Bracknell


Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely little place with friendly and welcoming staff. Very nice food - overall would recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best Bakehouse

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Wonderful welcome and help from the family - beautiful room, beautiful setting.
Cons: Perhaps some curtains in the window?
Location: Lovely, friendly village - brilliant restaurant 20 metres away - book in advance and stay over at the Bakehouse! Beautiful garden of England.
The Bakehouse is a beautiful old building in a beautiful little village surrounded by wonderful countryside. Our welcome fromm the family that run this lovely B&B was so lovely - kind, generous and nothing was too much trouble. The room (attic) is incredible - quirky, atmospheric, cosy and beautiful but best suited to those under 5'8" due to low historic beams - unavoidable and all part of the charm. That's not a criticism - just an observation. The bathroom is simple and charming. The breakfast is plentiful and incredible! Sets you up for the day with wonderfully prepared, quality ingredients - delicious! We had lovely stay and would readily recommend the beautiful Bakehouse!
4 out of 5
by philip from New forest.

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Fine,but the attic room i was in would not suit a tall person.Also stairs fairly steep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming place. Friendly hosts

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
We had a perfect stay at the Bakehouse. The owners were so friendly and helpful. Had dinner at West House. Top breakfast in their lovely cafe the following morning. Thank you!
4 out of 5
by Patrick from Somerset

A taste of Olde England

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
I have booked this before and will again when in the area. It is such a quirky place to stay - probably unique. A very old building in the heart of Biddenden. Caroline, is very welcoming and a good host. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are roomy but expect to find some low beams and supporting wooden props in the middle of the room! Whilst I love this place please note for anyone with mobility issue this is not for you. The lower floor entrance has variable levels and access to the upper floors & bedrooms is via a series of spiral stairs. Looking for a taste of historic rural England? Then this is a must stay. Next door is the Red Lion with good ales, good food and good local company if you want a chat.
5 out of 5
by DAVID from Wappenham

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed after a fishing festival for one night, had a quirky clean room. slept like log and had a fantastic breakfast. Caroline could not do enough for me.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Character building in the heart of Kent.

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Fantastic food, warm and friendly service. Very comfortable bed in a gorgeous room. Amazing bathroom!
Cons: signal for TV very poor, but for me personally this was not an issue.
Location: Within easy reach of Ashford and Hastings. Close to very well known historical locations. Biddenden is a quiet , medieval village.
Perfect location to explore very old parts of Kent. Quiet village and if you love history and old buildings The Bakehouse is a must. It has been expertly restored and is a fascinating place to stay in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North London

Very comfortable and welcoming B&B. Lots of charm.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: A very different place to stay with lots of character about it.
Cons: Nothing could be improved, a comfortable stay for me.
Location: A beautiful location in the heart of Kent. Sissenden Castle is nearby, a lovely day out. Also the towns nearby full of interesting shops.
Staying at the Bake house was a lovely experience. The whole place is full of character in the quaint village of Biddenden. I felt very at home and everyone was very welcoming to me. I would definately recommend staying there.