Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
26% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of modernization, not expensive

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Good exterior, plenty of potential but seems run down at the moment. However fair price. No
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from warwickshire

Done the job Only slept

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Helpful staff Aloud us to check in 2 hrs early Friendly polite staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Not expected from Expedia.

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Advertised as an executive room. TV was unresponsive, no wifi as advertised, bathroom was not of a standard that would be acceptable at the well known motel type chain in the UK. Expedia should really be more involved in the vetting of hotel description. I have used Expedia for many years, I have always been satisfied but ....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Romney Marsh

Close to town centre

Posted Oct 26, 2015
The only good thing about this hotel was the staff they were friendly enough the pillows and pillow cases were filthy and the bathroom was dirty i would only use this again if i was desperate
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Needed a alst minute one night stay

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The location, which was convenient for our purpose.
Cons: New windows! Brightening up the reception area, in fact all the public rooms are very dark and old fashioned.
The reception staff member did not appear to have much experience of greeting guests. The first impression of the room was that it looked fresh and clean (after the somewhat dingy, tired staircase and corridor). Went to open the window and found that the whole of the bottom pane in a large sash window had long cracks (12 - 18" long) which were held together by Sellotape. There were 3 windows two with net curtains, one without. (We had arrived early evening after a 6hr drive so didn't feel able to face searching for somewhere else. Needed to check the news but the tv didn't work, a young man (chef? waiter?) came to check it but couldn't make it work, so very helpfully brought us another set. The beds were comfortable enough, and the room was clean except for the mildew on the window frames. The water pressure in the shower was very low, although the water was hot. On going in and out of the hotel no-one appeared to be in reception, and when we checked out we couldn't find any staff at all. Staying in a room at the front of the hotel was very noisy due to single glazed windows facing a very busy, noisy road.
2 out of 5
by David from London

Not worth the money...

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very dated hotel. Poorly stocked bar. No staff...? The chef had to check us out. I won't be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable Hotel

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Nice Gardens, lots of birdsong, good pint of San Miguel
Cons: Check in to be open at 4 p.m . as stated
Location: Lots to do around Canterbury, several good Zoos
Relatively quiet, slightly old fashioned hotel. Reasonable value for the money.
4 out of 5
by Karen from Ramsgate

A really good stay!

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
The staff were extra friendly and helpful. Excellent food. A really good stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2015
No staff key left under mat never saw anyone while there
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Guest House and not a B&B as expected.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Once the heating kicked in the room was warm. Also, the room was clean.
Cons: A sign for parking and reception. Staff to be available outside of booking in/out times.
Location: Close to the function we attended. No sightseeing done.
Unsure where the parking was and no sign seen for reception when arrived. Arrived half an hour early, found reception but all locked up and no staff available until the designated time of 4 p.m.. Because I booked and paid on-line the breakfast was not included, unlike the other members of the party who paid on arrival. However, the breakfast price was reasonable. It was a cold afternoon and the house was cold. The heating did not start until 4 p.m.