Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Worth the drive.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Wonderful and charming pub/country inn experience if your willing to stay outside the town limits.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to our meeting venue (but nowhere else!)

Posted Sep 23, 2016
An enjoyable time. The staff, particularly Laurie, were very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Idyllic village pub

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Food, bed, tv, the locals' dogs, location.
Stayed here for my graduation and it was so lovely. We got shown up to our rooms immediately and everything is set out helpfully in the visitor's guide. The rooms we were in were lovely (blue and green). They aren't great for a view but that didn't matter. Only slight issue was how loud things going on outside or below were through my window, but that was only during the day/early evening. Downstairs in the pub is perfect. The cosiest little pub with nooks and armchairs and hops edging the ceilings. Really lovely homely atmosphere - moreso than my local! The food is excellent. First place I've been to that actually serves the right sized portions. Also the first place where I've liked the salad dressing. The location is really lovely. Went for a post-tea walk and saw the lovely churchyard and some excellent old architecture. Plus it's only 15 minutes from Canterbury so it is just the ideal place to stay if you don't like lifeless chain hotels or noisy places.
5 out of 5
by emily

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

B&B in Barham village

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Staff and food.
Cons: Get true internet access in the rooms.
Location: Suburban village about 15 minutes to heart of Canterbury: easy drive.
Hotel staff are wonderful. Food was good. Room was very small and cramped. Shower stall was the smallest I've ever experienced. No internet in the room; had to go outside. Outside areas are nice but watch out for great flaming piles of dog def.
4 out of 5
by Ken

Excellent country inn.

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
We rated the Duke of Cumberland highly for food, friendly service and overall atmosphere. OK, so the room was a bit small for two people for two nights but we had luggage for a 16 night tour with us!! Everything was spotlessly clean and the bed 'slept well'.
4 out of 5
by Gary R from Sunderland

One night in Barham

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed one night for business in Aylesham the next day. This was a local pub, with easy parking, friendly and helpful bar staff and waitress. Food was tasty and hot, and very reasonably priced
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint Inn

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, food, lodging and parking.
Situated in the English countryside this quaint inn offered a relaxing two days. The room was clean, tidy and quiet. the breakfasts were lovely and the dinner menu was fabulous with international cuisine offered in the evening. The pub downstairs was a nice place to have a pint in an English country atmosphere. Ample parking was available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth a visit

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
A clean, comfortable room in a lovely country pub. Excellent value for money and a very tasty breakfast; evening meal in the pub was good too. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2016
Sehr nettes Pub, leckeres Essen abends + full English breakfast am nächsten Morgen, unglaublich freundliches Team, ideale Nähe zu Dover, haben es als letzte Übernachtung vor der Fähre gebucht, hübsches Familienzimmer, würden wir immer wieder buchen.