Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Nice location. We had a beautiful room. Great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice hotel close to town centre

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Enthusiastic staff
Cons: Service was a little slow at times
Location: Very close to the town centre with the Cathedral and many small shops.
Enthusiastic welcome and efficient checking in. The room was clean and tidy with coffee and tea making facilities. The bed was comfortable and extra pillows were provided in the wardrobe. Breakfast was fine with a selection of cereals, dried fruit and yogurts. A full English fried breakfast with toast was available as were a range of bagels with a variety of toppings. We paid extra for a three course evening meal and chose from a range of starters, mains and desserts. Whilst not cordon bleu it was perfectly adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
A great find. We were welcomed warmly and shown to our clean, comfortable room up in the roof of the pub. So quiet and a beautiful view out over the lock gates. The town centre and the Marlowe theatre only 5 minutes walk away, which suited us just perfectly. The breakfast was wonderful and such a great choice. We would certainly stay at the Millers Arms again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Excellent staff. Very friendly and comfortable hotel. Fantastic city. Wish we could have spent more time there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Rooms very decent, a little punchy in price though. but no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

A quaint hotel very centrally located.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: It was rustic and picturesque, but did not lack for amenities. Heated bathroom floors went well with the old fashioned window sashes.
Cons: We missed having face cloths and a lack of staff resulted in the kitchen being closed on one night.
Location: The pub is centrally located and with walking distance of the cathedral, church and abbey along with several eating and shopping establishments.
We found the staff to be very friendly and the rooms exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival we were assisted with our luggage up the staircase to our named room. Once ensconced we discovered all of the features one would expect in a regular hotel from towel warmers and WiFi to digital television and a coffee service. While the room was tight, there was sufficient room for us to settle in comfortably. Please note that their kitchen closes at 8:30 PM and on one evening after touring the city, we returned tired and just wanting to eat and go up to the room only to discover that the kitchen was not open due to staffing so had to venture out again to find somewhere to sup. While we did find a nice restaurant this was inconvenient, however may also have been part and parcel of running a more intimate establishment. Other than this hiccup, we would absolutely stay here again. (Oh and do try their buttermilk, back bacon and banana pancakes. (Yummy!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northants

Spotless

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Location: good location, walking distance to shops etc.
Spotlessly clean, excellent full English breakfast, Would recommend to friends & family, good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Rooms are a bit small. Bathroom fan goes on with the bathroom light which is irritating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Inn close to the center of Canterbury but o

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Everything was great! It felt like excellent value for the price - charming room, friendly staff and everything as nice or even nicer than advertised
Cons: Having flat sheets on the beds as well as/or as an alternative to a duvet would be appreciated in warmer weather, but otherwise I would change nothing
We stayed in a quiet and charming room at the top of the inn with a view of Canterbury cathedral. It was exactly what we wanted from an inn. The room was clean, very comfortable and very pleasant. There was a delightful absence of tacky art and decor that you so rarely see these days in B&Bs-- the room was just nicely accented by a print of the Clerk from the Clerk's Tale, which our room was named after. We had two single beds pushed next to each other, which, given that my partner is a leg-shaker, was more comfortable than a Queen-sized bed if you don't have a memory-foam top. Full English breakfast the next morning was delicious and perfectly prepared. A great place. Sadly we didn't have time for a pint, but it looks like an excellent pub as well. Would absolutely stay again and recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great pub in the centre

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, layout, character.
Cons: nothing
Location: Town, cathedral, Kings Miles
Perfect stay close to everything and lovely breakfast. Room view of cathedral, real beer.