Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for business the breakfast and bar food menu is fantastic and get value. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

Small budget Seaside Hotel - good value

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Ebookers
Two nights stay in a standard room on the third floor - sea view through the corner of the window. Room tired but clean enough and everything worked - USB charger sockets were a nice touch! Breakfast was a very well presented English version of a continental one. Hot options were Scrambled eggs on toast crumpets or croissants. Great hotel for a short business or leisure stay on a budget. Standard rooms maybe not so good for a family holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Nice hotel for the price. Watch out for the stairs. :-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach and the Channel Tunnel

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: proximity to channel tunnel, the bed, the staff
Cons: decor and fittings
Very worn around the edges, but as clean as it can be given the worn-out state of the fittings. We stayed during the week, so we don't know what noise levels would be like at the weekend, but we managed to get a decent sleep. The hotel is convenient for the channel tunnel and we chose it because it is close to the beach so you can go for a walk and stretch your legs after (and before) a long journey stuck in a car. The bar / grill attached to the hotel is convenient; you can have a meal without going far and the food was good for what it was. The room was shabby (but clean) but the mattress was surprisingly comfortable.
1 out of 5
by bhanumat

worst hotel in the world

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
No lift very old disgusting building had to carry our bags shower was not working it kept on stopping the staff are not helpful and were very racist and rude and the manager was not professional at all and refused to give her name the bed covers were smelling alot and they stick.
5 out of 5
by derek from northfleet kent

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
the room was very clean & comfortable. we will stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself was fine, was excellently situated. There was some noise and rowdiness coming from the street late at night but it didn't bother us too much.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Macclesfield

Autumn break

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel comfortable and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very good and reasonably priced
4 out of 5
by Martyn from London

Great Value

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
I found the Portland really friendly the room very comfortable with excellent free wifi. Breakfast is served as continental and the quality is very good. One random tip bring your own roll or bread as this does not accompany the continent options. Otherwise excellent value with nice bar and terrace with a friendly vibe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Our room was tired and needed updating, but the buffet breakfast was very good