Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

relaxing and home from home

Posted Feb 9, 2016
A warm welcome and felt as though we stayed in a private house amongst friends. Amazing breakfast and cheese and biscuits in the late evening a great touch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A haven in the harbour

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Individualistic style, location, real fires and friendly staff. The breakfast is fabulous - one of the best.
Cons: The breakfast chairs are not very comfortable - maybe a cushion on the hard wooden seat would suffice; our shower was very temperamental
Location: Great location on the harbour looking out to sea. By car we went to Margate, Broadstairs, Deal and Canterbury. We had a great Indian meal in Ramsgate.
The only reason I've down marked to 4 is because either the heating went off i.e. broke down or it wasn't turned on - this was on the 2nd day of our stay. This hotel is fabulous, one to go back to without a doubt. Warm and welcoming staff, roaring fires in the snug and lounge areas. It was like being in a country house of an absent host who had set things out to make us as comfortable as possible. A bit Agatha Christie like but no murder (thats a relief !). We arrived late Friday evening; a charming young man explained things to us and then offered us cheese and biscuits in front of the fire.....it didn't get any worse. It works brilliantly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable

Posted Jan 24, 2016
spent one night in the royal harbour hotel was friendly and comfortable dog friendly lovely view staff very helpfull nice and cosy will definately return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milan

Special

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Cons: The bed, too soft and saggy. A lick of paint around the stairs would be a small investment but a big improvement.
This small hotel has a great atmosphere, and is perfect for a winter stay with its welcoming open fires and cosy ambience. The breakfast was better than good breakfasts in more starred hotels, and better than those in the top two hotels in the same area where we stayed in the same week. Unfortunately we didn't find the restaurant to be of the same standard. The staff were attentive and welcoming. There was even a convivial mood among the guests! We'd definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Lovely hotel overlooking harbour

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Rooms full or character and friendly, helpful staff
Location: Visit the underground tunnels for a very interesting and informative tour of life in WW2.
Welcoming staff, warm fires and cosy snugs to enjoy. A great place to spend a winter weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Internet
Cons: Wifi in room - despite many attempt we were unable to access.
Location: Harbour front location, steps away from the town centre.
Staff were extremely welcoming to us and our small dog. Food was excellent, both breakfast and evening meal.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Michael from Exeter

A horrible place!!

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
This place is 'not' a hotel. It is a tired terraced bed and breakfast. It says free parking but actually there is no parking except on the road in front of the building was always full of cars. So a very long walk with cases. The atmoshere was unfriendly. The breakfast was all fried eventhough I asked for scrambled eggs and grilled tomatoes. I did not complain as I feared that they would be unpleasant. Overall a terrible place. Take my advice and find somewhere else
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wolverhampton

Amazing..!!! Always stay here if in the area..!!

Posted Nov 8, 2015
This hotel is amazing. It's small boutique, for b&b prices. Amazing. Everything about this place was perfect. Came for one night, stayed for three. Bed was so comfy. Amazed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by George from London

A little gem

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Efficient and friendly staff Comfortable lounge with plenty of reading material Large variety of breakfast options A little gem we will stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Supreme Hotel with stunning harbour views

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Welcomed by the homely distant aroma of the real fire and polite and efficient staff, my stay was way above any of expectations I had. Top cleanliness, top service, top breakfast, I can not fault a thing.