Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very enjoyable stay!

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Location and quirkiness of the hotel
Cons: I was hoping for a sea view but I appreciate there's only so many sea-view rooms available!
Location: A walk along the beach followed by some fish and chips is a must!
Great location from town centre. Very welcoming staff. Room was very small but clean and well decorated. All very quirky and cosy! Amazing shower! Bed wasn't very comfortable at all but I would guess every room is furnished differently so whilst our room (room 28) had an uncomfortable bed (by my own preference rather than anything else) it doesn't mean other rooms will be the same. Great breakfast! Only thing missing was a hash brown! Free parking around the hotel. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Wish we could have stayed longer

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: All kinds of tiny extras that have been chosen to make guests feel really welcome.
Cons: We haven't got any complaints.
Location: We chose a sea view room and there probably isn't a better location in the whole of Ramsgate. Gorgeous!
We only stayed for one night and picked the Royal Harbour Hotel for the view, but found that the hotel is absolutely lovely with friendly staff, great food and quirky features that feel like someone has put love and thought into the choices. We'll definitely stay there and again and will happily recommend it to friends and family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

harbour front hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Position
Location: Micro pubs, japanese restaurant, walks, Broadstairs, Canterbury
Stayed in the annexe a few doors down from main hotel. As stated the room was small but well organised with shelving units to put your stuff. Only potential issue if you have a suitcase too deep to fit on the shelf, as there would be no where to put it. Lovely sea views, very comfy bed, nice ensuite, great breakfasts
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

VERY Disappointing quality of service

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Good location and breakfast
Cons: Domestic staff need much clearer cleaning guidelines to be thorough Electrics and plumbing need closer maintenance to raise service standards
Location: Central location with great harbour views
Lovely location and super breakfasts. Unfortunately, our bedroom was not clean, there were plumbing problems with the sink and shower, there was a faulty light in the bathroom and the bed had been made with a torn sheet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Quirky hotel with friendly efficient staff.
Cons: Some of the fabric of the building I.e. Windows could do with a bit of updating and repair but this did not detract from us enjoying our stay.
Location: We visited the Ramsgate tunnels which was well worth a visit. The harbour was of particular interest to us.
Efficient and friendly staff. Good choice for breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to town centre.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Good experience. Nice welcome. Touches like bottled water in room appreciated. Would visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Small beautiful hotel overlooking the harbour

Posted Mar 17, 2016
We were very lucky and were upgraded to a double room overlooking the harbour. The room was small but very comfortable. We felt like we were in a cloud lying in bed. The little balcony had two deck seats and we sat out and had tea in the morning. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a cultured elegant style, interesting art, decor and furniture. There are three lounge areas the breakfast room and garden to enjoy - I think there's a restaurant in the lower level too. My photos are not so great but the photos on the hotel website are accurate. It's a beautiful small seaside retreat close to the best part of Ramsgate, we will go back. The staff seemed really happy and were polite and friendly. I felt sad that we were only there for one night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swadlincote

The staff here can transform your stay

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Pros: please see above
Cons: please see above
The most amazing thing about this hotel is the staff. On the first day of our stay, during our evening meal in the delightful dining room, I received a phone call telling us our son was very close to death. He was in Cumbria, near Carlisle. Our devastation and terrible grief was met with great care and consideration. When we had to leave the following day, facing a long journey, not knowing whether we would reach him in time, our needs and welfare took priority, even to reimbursing some of our room charges for the cancellation. We cannot speak to highly of them. We were strangers and they took us in. The hotel reflected this attitude. Although the room and bathroom we had were very small with very little storage space, the view was amazing. The hotel has comfortable alcoves where you can read... (hundreds of books are available for perusal,) or to chat or dream. An 'honesty' bar is available whereby you select your drinks and sign a book to pay later. An innovation which reflects again, the goodness and kindness of the staff and management. On the down side, the hotel parking appears to be very limited and we cannot recommend it to anyone who finds walking up a hill for any disstance difficult. It is also a little shabby, particularly the stair carpets. But we will always remember this hotel with affection.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Dulwich London

Best Budget Hotel I have stayed in.

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Very pleasantly surprised with the service. Complimentary Cheese & Biscuits in the Evening. Excellent Breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A fantastic surprise

Posted Mar 7, 2016
I will admit i normally stick with the branded hotels but saw this one come up on a search site and realised they also supply breakfast for about £2 more than the Chain hotel . So I thought why not give it a go and was so so pleased I did . A fantastic hotel breakfast 1st class and so are the staff . David thanks for all your help . I would recommend this hotel to everyone .