Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not the most luxurious but job done

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Good location, easy check in.
Cons: More comfortable bed, new mattress
Location: Convenient location by the sea, very near main high street.
Everything worked, basic hotel room which was reflected in the price. Decor was a little bit dated in the room, and mattress was quite old.
4 out of 5
by MICHAEL

Good price and excellent location

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
First room was not up to standard with the bathroom. Requested change and second room good with refurbished bathroom. Have stayed here many times but staff has changed so our name not recognised and would not have been given this room. This said all rooms should be to adequate standard. Breakfast is good and location excellent
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out dated

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is out of date, smelly, bad decor, lift felt unsafe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice and warm place to stay on a winter's night.

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
I received a very warm welcome from the receptionist, who is a very polite and helpful chap. Thanl you. *If all hotel staff members and receptionists were like him, the world of travel and accommodation would be a much better place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Charming hotel right on the sea front

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Ebookers
The room was spacious and comfortable, the furniture is dated but functional, and the staff were extremely polite and helpful, a great value hotel with very cheap secure parking just around the corner
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sea views!

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at the Southcliffe are friendly & helpful. The hotel is well situated on the Leas with wonderful views of the sea & within walking distance of everything. The room was basic but clean. The lack of water in the shower was annoying - increased water pressure is needed. The window sash was broken.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent room, friendly staff, lovely hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely old building, sympathetically restored. Friendly staff. I always stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Staying for business. Average hotel. Was charged for a breakfast that I ever had. Luckily I checked my bank statement.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels