Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schöner Aufenthalt , tolle Aussicht aufs Meer!

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Die Individualität der Räume und der Balkon. Ein Traum, zu jeder Tag-und Nachtzeit.
Cons: Es wäre schon schön, wenn die Zimmer so erhalten blieben, aber renoviert würden...
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich an der fantastischen Strandpromenade von Folkestone und tritt man aus der Tür gibt es viele Resturants, Pubs und ähnliches...
Klar, das Hotel hat seine großen und glänzenden Zeiten hinter sich.. Es blättert die Farbe hier und da ab, das Balkongeländer ist rostig , lieblos ausgeführte Ausbesserungsarbeiten machen es nicht besser. Und dennoch haben wir uns sehr wohlgefühlt, denn das "Southcliff" hat sich seinen Charme bewahrt, der immer aus der Nostalgie und der Individualität eines "Britischen-Seebad-Hotels" herrührt. Hier sieht eben nicht jedes Zimmer gleich aus. Hier nimmt man seinen "Afternoon-Tea" auf dem Balkon (den man für den geringen Aufpreis UNBEDINGT mitbuchen sollte) und fühlt sich in die goldenen Zwanziger versetzt... das ist etwas Besonderes, für das wir auch auf jeden Fall wieder kommen werden. Dafür gehören eben Abstriche an anderen Stellen dazu.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Lovely hotel near like amenities and great parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Sea front hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Location, sea view, look from outside some old features inside.
Cons: Bathrooms!!! Matrasses.
Location: Great for visiting Kent, including Canterbury and Dover Castle. Also it is only 50 min from London by train.
Great location. Hotel looks lovely from outside, but very basic inside. In our room we had a big balcony with a sea view. Bathroom was tiny and very old, definitely required updaing. Toiletries provided. Beds and matrasses also need updating, but the rest of furniture was rustic and beautiful. Only stayed one night. It was ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venray

Nooit meer

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Aan de voor zijde was het uitzicht op de zee mooi. Meer niet.
Cons: Alles, het hele hotel is gewoon waardeloos.
Wij waren met de motor en die moet je dus onbewaakt achter het hotel zetten in een donker steegje en waar geen toezicht is, dit gaf ons geen fijn gevoel en waren bang dat er iets met onze motor zou gebeuren. De kamer was erg oud en saai ingericht. Ik stond onder de douch en was me aan het inzepen toen het water er mee ophield dus kon mijn douch niet afmaken. Ik raad mensen aan, betaal iets meer in een ander hotel want dit is echt waardeloos..... Het gederfde onze vakantie.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sussex

Fabulous view from room

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Husband and I stayed for three nights and was just a base for us. It was clean with clean white sheets and towels and a comfy bed which are the important things. The location and sea view were perfect, couldn't have wished for better. The rooms are a little old fashioned but cleanliness, location and view made up for this. I would happily book to stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel for tunnel

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Convenience having driven from Luxembourg and nice room with balcony
Good location. Nice room with balcony for an overnight stay en route from Luxembourg to Peterborough
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Why did we stop here?

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight stop on way to Eurotunnel. The room should have been checked out. The management knows what we mean, no apology. No complaints about the other Staff. I suppose you get what you pay for, but have paid less in other hotels and got better conditions. Needs a lot of money spending in it.
2 out of 5
by James

No going back!

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
The first thing we saw upon entering our room was the lampshade was tilted at a jaunty angle. The curtains were thin and hardly blocked out the daylight. The room and bathroom were both big but the bath had a shower fitting that I couldn't switch to get the water coming out of the tap. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was really enjoyable.
3 out of 5
by Lucy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Awesome location, great staff, old building.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Great location and staff.
Cons: Wi fi only worked in the foyer.
Location: Great location, decent shops nearby.
Location was great, overlooking the English Channel and being on the fourth floor we had an even better view! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The building itself was fairly old and far from modern but quite clean. Threadbare carpet in places and woodwork had seen better days. If you want a cheap stay with a great view and shops only a short walk away this could be the place for you. If you're after a place with all mod cons give it a miss.