Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leigh on Sea

Very nice hotel, easy access to historic City

Posted Jan 20, 2017
room was very clean and well presented. Staff very helpful. The carvery was beautiful. And a nice bar to have a relaxing drink after a long walk around the historic town and Cathedral. EXCELLENT
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017
This was a very nice place. The room was very comfortable, though the restaurant, bar and reception felt a bit dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great hotel staff restaurant and bar. perfect.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Staff were all very professional friendly and helpful. Food was reasonably priced and excellent. Big clean rooms. Well located. Free parking. It was my best stay in the 3 weeks I was in the UK. Take the riverwalk to town center suggested by the desk clerk. A very nice and peaceful walk to the town center without all the cars and crowd. Be sure to see the Oriental Plane Tree in the park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quiet hotel just outside Canterbury city centre

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Really liked the rooms (more spacious than expected) and the Carvery restaurant.
Cons: Some parts of the hotel could use some refurbishment.
Location: The location of the hotel is perfect, only 10 minute walk to the city centre, parking at the back.
My friends and I looked for a hotel close to the city centre but in a quiet neighbourhood and we got exactly that. The rooms were even more spacious than expected, the breakfast was good but sometimes arrived with a bit of a delay due to the many guests having breakfast at the same time. The Carvery restaurant is much better than we expected as well, and for a VERY reasonable price. Will definitely book here again if we go back to Canterbury. It's a beautiful hotel with friendly service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very good value for money as only 15 mins walk into Canterbury city centre. Staff very friendly and breakfast was good. Very comfortable bed and overall great if you're not after anything too fancy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for sightseeing, but tiny room

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was fine. OK for a one night stopover in Canterbury. It was convenient for visiting the city (only 15 mins walk). The room was tiny, but quiet. But OK for one night. The meal service was very poor. I had an evening meal and it took 45 mins for the meal to arrive despite it being a standard item.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kerhonkson, United States of America

First adventure to the UK.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Hotel staff was Great!! Restaurant staff was good, a few meals it took some time to get the staff's attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Comfortable

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: Close to city centre.
Adequate for our needs. Walking distance to town centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cork, Ireland

Excellent location

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: This is a very central location. As well as exploring the city we visited Howletts animal park just a few miles from Canterbury. Well worth a visit!
There were three of us staying at the Victoria. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean and were cleaned each day. There is plenty of parking and the location is quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Good price for decent room

Posted Oct 27, 2016
A good single room really though slightly awkward to use: couldn't use wardrobe as stuffed at end of bed and door ran into wall mounted TV when opened! Whole place a bit dated feeling but serviceable. Hair dryer cord not really long enough to use properly etc... but did the job, andtge room is cheapest around on Expedia!