Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from worthing

Peaceful location

Posted Oct 26, 2016
An individual mini cottage in the garden all to ourselves. Lovely breakfast and friendly host. Would visit again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Clare from Twickenham

Such a peaceful place

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed in the Oak Room for one night - it has lovely views and the garden is beautiful. It is two rooms in the attic plus a private bathroom. There are low oak beams so take bumping you head as part of the charm and some narrow stairs.
1 out of 5
by Janet from Colorado

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
This place was more rustic than we had anticipated. We stayed in the attic room which was three flights up tiny stairs - not good for older folks like us or dragging luggage up. The bathroom was large, but on the second floor, so you had to manuver the windy steps down to the bathroom. When you drained the tub (no shower), there was some sort of pump that made quite a noise. We had to use a pitcher in the room to rinse our hair as the tub faucet was too close to the side of the tub to rinse your head under(there was no sprayer). The ceilings sloped a lot in the bedroom and it was difficult to stand without bumping your head. The sitting room across from the bedroom was the same, but had more space. The breakfast was great and the breakfast room and gardens were lovely. The owners were on vacation and had left a French girl in charge which made it more difficult to find the place since she did not know how to direct us. It is not very close to any towns.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WSM

Mind Your Head

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A shower, but I would say the attic bedroom is not fit for purpose.
Location: Golf nearby and local restaurants in village
This was a nice rural retreat in Kent. What I didn't expect was to be stuck up in some ones attic. I'm sure the barn conversion is absolutely lovely. The property is a very old cottage which means very small door ways and low beams. I would say it breaches health and safety. I knocked my head several times during the one night stay, fortunately not severely. I did have to bite my tongue to stop my from screaming profanities. Not what I expect of an over night stay. The bathroom didn't have shower, something I expect as standard. All else was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Best destination for a relaxed time away

Posted Dec 10, 2014
First of all the location and view is one of the best. Room was super comfy and nice and very tidy. We loved the privacy at the same time of all the necessary info. Hostess(Victoria) is very warm and helpful. We would love to visit again.
5 out of 5
by Carol from London Town

Peaceful Countryside Getaway

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
This B&B is very quaint and in rural and peaceful location. We arrived quite late due to traffic but Victoria was very understanding and kind. We had the Orchard Room which in the morning had a stunning view of the Orchard, the dew on the grass, the early mist and fog - beautiful. The breakfast was delicious, well cooked and as it was served in the convervatory you could continue to admire the green spaces, and take in the occasional chatter from the animals - rooster next door, horses and a dog but nothing annoyingly so, just very pleasant :-) Victoria is a very inviting host. The room has some nice touches, the shower is big enough for two and modern. The double bed is super comfy and very clean. There were some flapjacks as a welcome treat and also a basket of useful leaflets of things to do in the area and take - away menus. We chose Krishna (Indian restaurant) and I can't complain. There is also a handy book that gives you the B&B's recommendations and a wonderful guest book to share your thoughts and add yourself to the history at Wilderness. You can clearly see that we were not the only satisfied and pleased customers. I can't wait to go back but perhaps in the summer so I can appreciate the Orchard more. It's a great location to visit several sites in Kent, we chose to spend the day at Sissinghurst Castle - amazing break away! Thank you Victoria and also Hotels.Com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

A warm greeting on arrival. Lovely surroundings.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The peaceful surroundings. Every thing was spotless.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Headcorn, lovely farmers market every 2nd Saturday.You must visit the Bell and Jollocks Pub in Frittenden. Good food and lovely pub land lord and lady
We were booked for the room in the guest house, but we had the opportunity to stay in the Hooper "Outhouse". The Hooper was beautifully decorated to a high standard. There were selection of various teas and coffees and homemade oat crunchies very yummy. Breakfasts were to die for in the main house.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mind your head!

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed in the main house. Warm, clean, great breakfast, nice hosts. You get a bedroom, sitting room and bathroom. BUT access is via a narrow, steep, twisting staircase and there are VERY low beams across the bedroom and sitting room - you will bang your head during your stay and it hurts! No shower, only a bath. Also a cockerel at 4am to contend with!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from australia

Quirky Rural Hideaway

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: We loved the unusual old home.
Location: Close to Sissinghurst and lots of lovely old villages.
Comfortable and very friendly. We were very well looked after by the hosts.