Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Kate from Washington

Red Roof in Kentland - One and Done

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
The check-in manager was rude and even though we called to let them know we'd be arriving very late they charged us a no-show fee. We were able to work it out so we weren't charged an extra night to compensate, but it was a long debate to do so, and very late at night when we were tired. There was mold in the bathroom on the ceiling and the shower bar was curved out and barely on. We did like the pool option for the kids, but we were scolded for having a family member in town join who wasn't staying at the hotel - when there were no more than 10 guests total there...so we weren't taking space away from anyone in the pool. My biggest issue was that we chose this hotel for our pet to be with us, and then after calling to ensure I didn't need anything special, when we arrived, we were told we couldn't leave her in the hotel alone ever. So that significantly impacted our ability to go out to dinner with our family, or run to the store without bringing our dog with us - which is the entire reason for getting a hotel that allows pets. This info was nowhere on the website, or we would have stayed elsewhere. I wouldn't stay there again, next time we go home, we'll pay extra for better facilities and friendlier staff for sure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
The water smelled foul. New cups weren't given for coffee once you've used them.
2 out of 5
by Daniel

Not smoke free feel

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
I got a not smoking room but I was still able to smell the smoke from next room, not very pleasant. If your are not a smoker :(
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Not bad but not great, took dogs and had an indoor pool so that fit our needs (have 9 year old). Plus it was on the way from ohio to Wisconsin, soooooo. It was also nearly empty on the sat night after thanksgiving.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Race weekend

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Just what I needed, would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad for the price - but take care of the mold

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Awkward room design with a curtain separating the bathroom from the bedroom. The jet tub was slightly dingy with mold - otherwise the room was clean.
3 out of 5
by Michelle from Peoria

Nothing wrong with Red Roof on a Road Trip

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Easy place to stay on a road trip. Nothing fancy, but Safe, comfortable, clean.
1 out of 5
by Gwen from Phoenix, AZ

Sulphur and Spiders!

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
This was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The water had a disgusting sulfur smell, there were spiders in the bathroom, and I don't believe the sheets had been cleaned before our stay. I would rather sleep in my car than stay at this location again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

No hubo otra opción mejor

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Nada, muy simple y por el costo se me hace caro
Cons: Que se comparen con otros hoteles en la cercania
Location: Nada en cercanías y podrían ofrecer algún tipo de amenidad.
Pueden mejorar muchísimo y hace falta que piensen que no solamente conductores de camiones lo pueden utilizar
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2015
The hotel is deteriorating. It is in need of renovation. As soon as you look at it, you feel disappointed. Also the tap water smells bad. I only stayed in this hotel because I had to travel unexpectedly and every other hotel in the area was booked.