Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location for a weekend trip. Close to all

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: check in and check out times (see above)
Location: see above
Staff was very friendly. The made to order omelet station was very good. Close to mohonk trails, minniewaska waterfalls (don't bother trekking it up to lake minniewaska - not worth the hike), and close to new platz which has many restaurants at reasonable prices. Only think I was not satisfied with was check in is at 4pm and check out is at 12 am. I think I should at least get a 24hr period
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Aug 7, 2016
When a person sees resort or spa hotel online, we assume its amazing. Not so. This hotel is very old and not updated. The lobby and floors reeked, the carpets were stained and smelled bad. There were leaks throughout the hotel. The pools looked thirty. They served you complimentary breakfast but dining area was disgusting. I couldn't wait to leave. The only reason I stood was cause I arrived at 11pm at night & it was only for 1 night. I do not recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Recently purchased by the Chinese, deteriorating.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: The people were wonderful.
Cons: Everything but the staff.
The staff was trying desperately to be helpful, but with limited resources. I needed copies, and no color printer. Breakfast was limited as there were less than 14 people staying there some days. Pool was beautiful but lifeguard was late to open and no substitute. Rooms were very clean but exceptionally dated. On the 8th floor in the rear, you could see that some of the roofs were so bad below, the buildings should be torn down.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach , VA

Mountain beauty on path back to former glory

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Our stay was pleasant and the hotel was spacious and fairly well run. We hope the new owners continue investing in the restoration and amenities. Nice pools and a good spa experience. Surprised to find a fridge in the room and a free breakfast offered that were not listed as amenities. Weekday breakfast only continental, but expected nothing. Weekend had a fuller breakfast with a chef making custom omelets, very nice. Would love to see their little shops and restaurants reopen.
2 out of 5
by nicolas from NYC

Too expensive

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Too expensive for the quality provided!
2 out of 5
by Janet from Montreal

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Wifi did not work. The whole place was dingy and tired-looking. Decorated with old worn carpets and sofas. Strange smells everywhere. We saw several signs of incompetent maintenance and botched up repair jobs. AC and bathroom fans made an enormous racket. Very ugly and strange decor and weird layout of the whole building. Can't figure out the story of this place, but it definitely has a story. The staff were courteous and nice.
2 out of 5
by lisa from Burnt jills

Old and creepy.

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Dirty room and bathroom. The whole building is old and needs work. I'm sure it was beautiful in its day.
4 out of 5
by Gabriele

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Not worth the trip

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Place is run down and depressing spent a Saturday night with my family. The property is in need of serious updating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Okay place to stay

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: New mattresses would make things 100% better
The facility itself was decent - nothing "resort or spa" about it in my opinion. Only major criticism is that the beds (2 different rooms) were harder than rock. Didn't make for a great night's sleep...