Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

Nice Surprise

Posted Feb 23, 2017
The Moongate is nestled in a beautiful setting with lovely garden and nice swimming pool. Lionel, the proprietor couldn't be nicer. Rooms are lovely and the cooked breakfast exceptional. A real treat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by MoonGate, Hotel Management
Thank you Arlene for taking the time to write us a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back one day. All the best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous guys.

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Wotif
Loved it. Sorry we had to leave in a rush. We will be seeing you next year.
5 out of 5
by Ruth from Launceston Tasmania

Relaxing Moon Gate

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in the cabin in garden which was spacious and self contained. We self catered breakfast the first day with provisions supplied which were plentiful and excellent. The second day we chose to eat in the main house. The breakfast here was generous to say the least, beautifully presented and thoroughly worth the extra cost. The gardens and setting at the moon gate are really beautiful and restful. Lionel's assistance and suggestions of where to dine for dinner were excellent. Overall a really excellent and relaxing holiday experience and would recommend the Moon Gate as a lovely indulgent destination. We would recommend this as a place for return visit for ourselves, friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Paradise Found

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Our best hotel experience in New Zealand. It's all about the details and Moongate delivers. Chocolate, flowers, concierge service, made to order breakfast and a perfectly appointed room and garden. Well done!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2016 by Lionel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. All the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Simply amazing

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: Everything from the homemade breakfast each morning to the quiet tranquility that the villa had to offer.
Cons: Nothing, everything was perfect!
Location: Plenty of great places to eat, hiking, wineries, etc.
Wow, what a pleasant surprise upon arrival. The hosts, Lionel and Rob, were gracious, knowledgeable about the area, helpful in making suggestions for traveling/dinner/sightseeing/etc. The villa is absolutely gorgeous and the grounds are stunning. Although it rained for most of our stay in Kerikeri, we couldn't have had a better time. It was a great place to relax and unwind during our trip. It was obvious that our hosts LOVE what they do. We felt so welcomed and really hated to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2016 by Lionel, Hotel Management
Kia Ora MJB Thank you for your wonderful review. Hope to you see you back one day. All the best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

A real find in the heart of Kerikeri

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Wotif
Stayed 3 days in the cottage and found it to be top notch, beautifully laid out, luxury linen and amenities, perfect for a relax.. Setting was amongst the gardens and off the main road so very quite other than the birds chirping which I enjoyed. I found the hosts very helpful and they made extra efforts with extra caring touches which made us feel welcome and well looked after. Definitely recommend this accommodation, so glad we chose it for ourselves ;-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Lionel, Hotel Management
Thank you Lian for your great review. We are glad you chose us and hope to see you back this way one day. Kia Ora
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Simply The Best

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Friendly and welcoming, comfortable
Cons: Lighting at entrance, not easy to find at night.
Location: Farmers, market, beaches, close to Pihia.
Wonderful hosts, comfortable accommodation. Central to town. Hosts went out of there way to help and went that extra mile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Lionel, Hotel Management
Thank you Ian and Sandra for taking the time to give us a review. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to your next visit to the Bay of Islands. Kia Ora
5 out of 5
by rahul from Maharashtra

Superb

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
It was warm n cozy... Overall amazing
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Lionel, Hotel Management
Thank you Rahul for taking the time to write a reveiw. We here at Moon Gate appreciate it. Kia Ora
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The most memorable stay of our trip!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Lionel makes the stay at Mmon Gate extra special.
Cons: Our stay here was perfect.
Location: Visit rainbow falls and the stone store whilst in Kerikeri. Lionel happily arranged a cruise for us to the hole in the rock which leaves from Paihia.
We loved our recent stay in Moon Gate Villa. I stayed with my two adult daughters and this worked out very well. The villa and rooms are beautiful and the grounds and setting are amazing, but what made our stay so very special was the way Lionel looked after us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Lionel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your reveiw. Kia Ora
5 out of 5
by Walaa from New Zealand - Northland

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Comfortable bed! Amazing breakfast!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Nice position, Accessible
Facilities: Home away from home, Outstanding; Value: Acceptable price, Fair price, Reasonable; Service: Flawless, Go the extra mile, Outstanding; Cleanliness: Immaculate, Beautiful;