Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by No name

Kern River Bed & Breakfast

Posted May 15, 2012 on Hotels
While I was very pleased with the Hotel itself...The Inns Keeper (Owner)...was extreemly rude. I thought at first maybe a bad day. But the rudeness continued on every question or comment. With out getting into details...I will NEVER stay there again...due to her...and is a shame..as one of the cleanest in the area. My Family has lived there for over 20 years and I go frequently.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

The Kern River B&B

Posted Apr 20, 2012 on Hotels
The B&B is totally updated with a wonderful bed, fireplace, and big bathroom. Decorating is fresh and comfortable. Breakfast is sumptuous and the host is friendly. Go there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay - lovely location

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Very warm welcome - lots of thoughtful touches; snacks and drinks for a suggested donation. Breakfast freshly made and very tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Malibou Lake, California 91301, USA

Relaxing River Room

Posted Apr 9, 2012
Pros: The owner's pets (two dogs & a cat) were very sweet and friendly, lending a homey touch.
Cons: The small t.v. in our room.
Location: Exceptional--directly across the street from the park and river, within walking-distance of all the antique shops, saloon and restaurants.
Sitting up in bed each morning, looking out the window at the river, in a well-kept, clean, quaint B&B was a very pleasant experience. Breakfast each morning was home-made, with a nice surprise each time, great coffee, and snacks throughout the day. The bathroom was supplied with more toiletries than we've ever gotten from a Four Seasons hotel, and the shower had four extra water spouts, creating a great shower experience. The only drawback was the tiny television up in the corner, which was hard to view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Al & Georgia from Bakersfield, CA

A wonderful getaway!!

Posted Mar 27, 2012
Pros: The host, Virginia.
Cons: We cannot think of anything.
Location: Location is across from the park on the Kern River. A bueatiful spot.
Virginia is a wonderful host for her B & B. The outside looks as good as the inside of this Bed & Breakfast!! Every room has it's own theme. We will be going back again!!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Great river access; close to Sequoia Ntnl Prk

Posted Jul 10, 2011 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at the Kern River Inn. It was quaint and right in the heart of tiny Kernville. Most of the food places around there were typical American fare: steakhouses, diners, one Mexican, and one Italian (which were just okay). The micro-brewery is a nice place to go eat casual food and their homemade root beer is great, too. For the inn, if you are not keen on animals or are allergic to cats or dogs, do not stay here. The owner, Virginia, lets her cat Max and her dog Papi roam freely. We love animals, so it added to our experience (and we bonded with three-legged Max), but Max had left an old "surprise" on the carpet in our bedroom which Virginia apologetically had failed to catch. I don't think it is a normal occurrence, but we can see many people put off by such an incidence, so I felt obligated to mention it. There is a nice little living room to hang out in and a great front porch from which to sit and stare at the river (which is just across the street). The breakfast food is good, organic and homemade. In short, if you are okay with animals, or are in fact an animal lover, this place is a great place to stay. If you are not, you would probably be happier somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Palmdale, CA

Going back in a few months

Posted Feb 22, 2011
Beautiful inn, very very nice inn keeper, super clean, wonderful breakfast both mornings. Great little town, very slow paced and relaxing. Great little shops and very friendly people. The river is right across the street and you can hear it from the rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Kern Bed & Breakfast in Kernville

Posted Jul 5, 2010 on Hotels
The house is located facing the Kern river and most bedrooms overlook the river. The room was comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was communal and very good. Kernville is a pleasant town with a few good restaurants but it does get busy at weekends. Kernville is a convenient location for exploring Lake Isabella, the Kern river and the southern end of the Sequoia National Park (the trail of a 100 giants). If you like a family atmosphere this is the place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A. from Berlin, Deutschland

kuschliges kleines B&B

Posted Apr 18, 2013
alles liebevoll arrangiert, vom Badezimmer bis zum Frühstück...sehr familiär und sehr zu empfehlen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super Bed & Breakfast

Posted Oct 7, 2012
Einfach klasse! Nette Zimmer, super freundliches Personal und 1A Frühstück.