Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Comfortable hotel in the centre of the city

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Comfortable hotel within walking distance of a lot of Irish pubs. Close to bus stops for the Ring of Kerry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co. Limerick

Town center walking distance

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: warm friendly staff & spotless accommodation
Cons: nothing
Location: The hotel is minutes walk away from train & bus station & shopping outlet Its also minutes from the town center
We stayed in this hotel on a Saturday 03.12.16. Upon arrival we met a very pleasant & most welcoming receptionist, she was extremely friendly & got our stay off to a good start. The room & en-suite were spotless, & warm. The hotel is minutes walk away from train & buses & also minutes from the town center. On Sunday morning our check out experience was again top class. Dont know where this hotel hires it staff from but alot of other places could learn alot from these two ladies that looked after us. Top marks well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Fantastic Killarney Hotel! Highly recommend!

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Orbitz
My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Arbutus hotel. We would definitely recommend it to our friends and family! Betty served us breakfast and it was delicious. The hotel staff couldn't be friendlier! The location was central to town. The only drawback's were that parking was down the street but it was easily accessible. The rooms were well appointed in the bathroom was large and clean. My only minor complaint was that the bed was a bit hard but nothing that would keep me from staying there again. We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in the lobby! Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
really enjoyed my stay all staff v friendly . nice irish welcome and hospitality would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel for a short break

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect hotel for a short break. Clean and adequate place to stay. The only slight annoyance was that the 'double' bed was two singles joined together.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was excellent. Got a reduced rate on hotels.com. Summer rates are very high.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
we realy enjoyed our stay at the arbutas hotel very friendly staff lovely food nice clean room great bar very relaxing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Dated

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: Being honest about parking not being totally free. Including breakfast
Location: Right in the middle of Killarney. Close to Killarney national park, Ring of Kerry, and Dingle peninsula
Stayed here for 2 nights during our Honeymoon. The Arbutus isn't bad, just very dated (circa 1920s). For us, we like more modern technology and facilities, so we were less than impressed and wished we had booked elsewhere. If you are in to that type of stuff, then you may actually love it. The staff there was helpful, but not nearly as helpful as we experienced everywhere else in Ireland. We were also upset about their lies about parking. It is only free from 7pm to 830am, and then you have to pay hourly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect city ctr place for all the right readons..

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
In Killarney to shop & sight seeing. First time at Arbutus but will return & recommend to others. Hotel excellent renovation to keep history & add convenience...charming & comfortable. Fires in lobby & sitting room were a wonderful greeting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The people working in the hotel were wonderful. My son and I wanted to take a jaunting car ride but we were not sure where to go. She called the company and they picked us up at the hotel. It was wonderful!!
Cons: It was a little loud being in the front room of the hotel but it didn't really do much to keep me from sleeping.
Location: Great location. Everything is really nearby, in walking distance.