Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gueloh, Ont, Canada

Easy walk into Kellarny.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Unfortunately it had recently been sold and restaurant and other things were not up and running.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Hotel condition has seen better days

Posted May 21, 2016
Aged furniture, TV didn't work in all three rooms, heating in one room did not work, irons did not work, heated towel racks did not work, worn carpets, pealing paint, and the hotel kitchen was under renovation (unable to eat dinner there).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold needs repairs

Posted May 21, 2016
No heat in room. TV didn't work. Couldn't get windows closed. Bathroom floor very slippery. Very long time to get hot water to flow. Lounge furniture old and broken down. One of the food servers was rude. It was a lovely setting, but many upgrades needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Wonderful hotel near Killarney National Park

Posted Oct 23, 2015
This is a beautiful estate hotel with the most friendly and helpful staff. They helped us book a fabulous ring or kerry tour and arrange tickets to see traditional dancing and music show. The rooms were beautiful with amazing views of the property where you can see sheep and reindeer roam. If I ever happen to return to Killarney, this is the only property I would consider staying at!
5 out of 5
by Marie-eve from montreal

Repos au manoir

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
2e visite au Cahernane House Hotel. Endroit magnifique et tellement calme. Aucun bruit de voiture, seul le vent et les moutons des pâturages entourant l'hotel. possible de marcher jusqu'au village de Killarney (20 minutes) et à maximum 30 minutes des attractions principales du coin (Gap of Dunloe, Torc Mountain, Ross Castle, Muckross House/abbey, Killarney national park) Personnel très avenant qui peuvent vous donnez conseil sur les activités à faire ou encore réserver pour vous. déjeuner copieux compris (mini buffet combiné à des plats à la carte comme pain dorée, crêpe, omelette. Miam!)
4 out of 5
by Sherri from Overland Park, KS

Getting shabby

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is a beautiful property, but is getting a little worn. It could use some rehabbing. The elevator was out of order while we were there also.
1 out of 5
by Michael from USA

This Hotel is in trouble

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
The Cahernane Manor is obviously bankrupt or having severe financial difficulties. The elevator was broken, the tennis court hadn't been cleaned in a long time, there was nobody to help with the baggage, the hotel and the rooms were not cleaned to an acceptable level, the hot water wasn't working and the muck that came out of the hot water tap looked like brown puree pond scum mixed with thick pudding. After hauling our luggage to our third floor room and getting settled in, my wife decided to take a bath. She yelled for me to come into the bathroom and see what was coming out of the faucet. If I didn't know better, I would have assumed that the gunk from the faucet was macerated sewer waste. The hotel agreed to move us to a different room. I grabbed all of our luggage and moved to the first floor into the new wing. We looked at the room and thought everything would be fine. There was no hot water in the new room. Have you ever taken a cold shower in Ireland in September? I have to admit, that it was definitely invigorating. It only took me about 15 minutes to get over the hypothermia after I got out of the shower. Maybe we were just unlucky with this hotel, but I assure anyone reading this post that my wife and I will never stay there again.
4 out of 5
by David from London

Former manor house with great views

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Former manor house with great views and proximity to Killarney National Park. Hotel is a little run down but the rooms are very spacious and the staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Larry from West Lafayette, IN USA

Amazing Charm and Beauty

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel has amazing charm and beauty. There were four of us in two rooms and all said that it was our favorite hotel we stayed at during our 8 night visit to Ireland. The rooms, the dining room, the bar and the several common area rooms, which include a grand piano and a harp as well as a billiard room, take you back to a different time but with all of the all of the current amenities including a/c. Food was delicious, the exterior is grand and and the large spacious grounds were beautiful and relaxing. I would go back in a heartbeat!
3 out of 5
by Jennifer from New York, NY

Great views but needs a little update.

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
The Cahernane has beautiful views. The room was clean, but the pillows were uncomfortable and the towels were worn out. The WiFi doesn't work in the rooms only in the lobby and dining room. It's located outside of city center so if you're looking to be near the nightlife and restaurants, this isn't the place for you.