Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous common spaces; rooms 'OK'

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Orbitz
LOVED the great rooms and fireplaces. Mulled wine in crystal punch bowls - divine. Rooms themselves were average and chilly but worth the stay for the grounds and common areas alone. Staff is friendly and helpful and the porridge (yes really) was FANTASTIC.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very enjoyable despite some shabby bits

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful welcome, great food, huge room. Some public areas very charming and historic. However, the place needs a lot of work, and the good news is: work is underway just now--so if all goes well, this place will soon live up to its full potential.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classy; like downtown abbey

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
It was just wonderful. Just stayed a night but it was so restful it felt like longer. lovely atmosphere; different drawing rooms to 'withdraw'; beautifully decorated for Christmas; old fashioned but modern touches where needed; staff fantastic; dining room fab and the best evening meal we have had for a very long time. Just wonderful - thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old world comfort and elegance

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
amazing hotel,amazing staff......room 11 spacious ..with lovely view
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant, comfortable and friendly!

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
We decided to make Killarney our home base while in western Ireland and it worked out perfectly. Cahernane Manor is beautiful, well-taken care of and comfortable. We felt at home instantly and every member of the staff treated us like treasured family. Even thought it was clearly off-season in the area, there was always plenty of activity and friendly faces at the hotel. Gorgeous views of the mountains and pastures all around. Our room and bathroom were large, nicely decorated and conveniently laid-out. It seems like everything's in the process of being renovated. Our mattress was a bit tired but I'm guessing that will all be updated soon. We loved Cahernane Manor, recommend it highly and will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Comfort and quiet close to town

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: On the outskirts of Killarney but close to Ross Castle, Muckross and the town. One of the best locations, in my opinion.
While it looks delightfully old fashioned from the outside, the comfort and service was very up to date. After driving down the tree lined drive, the house seems very Irish country manor and certainly the hospitality was exceptional. The bar was a haven for the weary traveller, and even though there were major renovations going on, the place was very peaceful at night. 10 out of 10 for the staff, who welcome you in an impressive fire lit reception room. Easy car parking. A good 15 minute walk, and you are in town - best not to take your car into Killarney as the traffic is quite heavy. Close to everything and extremely comfortable. I will certainly return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Experience

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Grounds and hotel were beautiful. Breakfast was exceptional, staff was friendly and cordial. Had dinner there one evening- food and service were excellent. Country setting, with ten minute walk to downtown Killarney, which was picturesque and quaint. Free parking. Only (minor) complaint was that the free wifi was spotty and unreliable. Hopefully that will be remedied. Would recommend to friends and would definitely return for another stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for this lovely review on Hotels.com. I appreciate you taking the time to do so. I will bring your comments to the attention of our wi-fi provider and will have this rectified. We hope to welcome you back soon to the Cahernane, Thanks again Emer Emer Corridan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, CA

Beautiful experience all around.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Country feel, country charm. We woke up to cows mooing in the pasture.
Location: Muckross House
We had a wonderful experience. Loved the accommodations, beautiful charming experience. Hotel staff were very accommodating too. Our room and bathroom was especially large and comfortable. We didn't want to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by Emer C, Hotel Management
Dear So.CalWineLover, Thanks so much for this lovely review, we are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel so much. I will pass on your kind comments regarding the staff to them, Many thanks again, Emer Corridan General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
not so good. Is under renovation. Had ladders outside of my room. Breakfast could not fill a mouse