Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ct

Beautiful hotel overlooking lake

Posted Apr 8, 2017
The hotel was beautiful with gorgeous views. Room was extremely comfortable. I can not give this an excellent rating simply due to the front desk staff. I found them to be less than friendly and when I asked a question I felt I was imposing. I also found it ironic that on display directly across from front desk was a map of the Ring of Kerry yet no mention of the road closer on a main road. Thankfully we had a map as GPS could not re-route us. Little changes in front desk attentiveness could have made this rating an excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
So nice to wear panties as a man. I am writing this because I had too. Normally I would weAR regular knickers, but this was a special occasion :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Perfect conclusion

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, ambiance, quality of room, food service.
Cons: Rooms were over heated and no instruction for the heaters.
My wife and I had just spent a hectic but exciting 3 weeks touring UK and Europe. We needed a place where we could unwind and regroup briefly prior to a long flight home to Australia. The Lake Hotel was the perfect location. The location on the lake was breathtaking in all the changing conditions that we experienced. The gardens were well kept and refreshing. The room was well prepared and extremely comfortable. The staff helped in every way possible that we needed them to including the last minute changing of bookings. The location is also central to some wonderful day trips in the area. Top marks to the Lake Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, United States

Great Location

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Great views of national park. Path from hotel leading to trails to Muckross. Beautiful even on a rainy day! Only drawback is you're too far to walk to town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with beautiful views right on the lake!

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Lake views, helpful staff.
Location: Not a lot to do nearby without access to a car.
Good hotel with beautiful views of the lake. It's a bit far from the city center, so be prepared to take a taxi, or drive into the city center for restaurants and nightlife. The hotel itself has a good bar with live music, but it was hard to hear the musicians over the chatter of everyone else in the bar and adjoining restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carrigaline co cork.

Nice old charm hotel with the best staff.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Lovely hotel with fantastic views.A little far out for the walk into town but if your feeling energetic its no problem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent, extremely friendly and helpful staff, facilities are immaculate. We will be back Thank you for the wonderful hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent hotel, staff, surrounding.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Charming hotel on the lake, McCarthy Mor Castle ruins on site on the lake too, a few steps from the hotel. Deer came out at night close to the hotel. Good food, atmosphere, the castle was our destination and the hotel did not disappoint. Also, Ross Castle 10 minutes away, and the town of Kilarney also close, shopping and found a great Irish breakfast there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
very good food very relaxing stay, staff very nice