Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Lovely

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Charm, reasonable rates, great breakfasts.
Cons: Nothing material.
Location: Central Tralee location.
Very nice hotel, centrally located. Used as a base for golf nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect evening stop

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The rooms were lovely yet small. Comfortable and a great bathroom.
Location: The Rose of Tralee gardens
We stayed one night. Arrived around 5 Pm. The bathroom was the best. We each had a luxurious bath. The hotel was very close to the beautiful rose gardens. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was excellent. The best rack of lamb ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A short trip to Tralee for The Rose!

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The Staff and the Location.
Cons: I do not have any idea!
Location: So central a little walk to all areas, Shopping Area, Square where the Stage was, and the Rose Garden just down the road. Perfect.
From arriving to leaving this Lovely hotel we were treated like family by the wonderful staff. All very friendly, nothing was to much for any of the staff. We used the Reception Staff for information and taxi calling checking and checking out, fabulously friendly and courtesy. The Breakfast was lovely and the Staff within this area were so friendly and helpful. I enjoyed a little time in the bar, and that too was very friendly. Our Room was a wee walk from the Main Lobby area, but was so peaceful that I was very pleased. I would not have liked to have been trying to sleep over the bar!!... But that was not my problem. I lovely my time and would return to this hotel, its Location is perfect to walk to any where within the town of Tralee. Perfect few days - Thank You so much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A friendly hotel well located in Tralee

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: The reception staff, the food, the friendly bar staff, the room was not huge but very comfortable.
Cons: A fridge in the room and tea making facilities
Location: Excellent location near the town centre and local parks. Close to the Dingle circuit .
A terrific hotel, small but friendly helpful staff. The bar was a great place to go and the food was terrific. Breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very Nice Hotel Near Dingle

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Location. Bathroom.
Cons: Larger lobby.
Location: Located in center of city near museum and shopping and restaurants.
Old style from the outside and lobby but modern room and fabulous bathroom. Parking could be a problem as there is a charge for street parking during the day. There is no lift but a bell hop will bring luggage up stairs for you. Staff is friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lives up to it's name, "Grand".

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Nicely maintained old school hotel with a very friendly atmosphere. The seafood medley meal was the best I had in all of Ireland!!
Cons: Not a big deal but would have preferred to have a bath tub as the bathroom big enough. First Irish hotel I stayed at without a bath tub.
Location: Handy to main street and various pubs...
Really nice hotel in a great location within Tralee. Hotel room was very nice and staff were very helpful in allowing myself a late check out when not feeling well. Restaurant & bar very nice!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Galesburg IL

Nice hotel right in the heart of things.

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Convenient, easy to find, great food.
Cons: Everyone was very helpful and pleasant.
Location: There were a lot of shops, restaurants and bars close by.
The hotel was convenient and we were able to walk and see things that we of interest. We would stay again. Had a nice breakfast that was included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel with lots of character

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Lots of character
Cons: Toilet in our room needed repair; why don't hotels offer recycling options?
Location: Airport, shopping, etc.
The Grand Hotel is an older hotel with lots of character and charm. It's clean and well-maintained with spacious rooms and beautiful craved wood furniture. Free parking, free wifi, exercise facilities with sauna and steam room. Despite being situated close to the Shannon airport I didn't hear a single airplane. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small, clean, and pleasant

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Excellent breakfast, friendly staff.
Location: Right in the center of town! We walked to the park and then around the corner to Quinlan's Fish and Chips for a fantastic, inexpensive dinner.
The layout is quirky-- getting to our room involved 2 different staircases and enough turns that my husband got lost each time. But we enjoyed the atmosphere. It's ideally located a block from Tralee's beautiful rose garden and near restaurants, shopping, and the train station. Breakfast is delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A nice hotel with friendly staff.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Food and friendliness.
Cons: There is no lift at this hotel and the stairs could be difficult if you are carrying luggage.
I would stay at The Grand again. Hotel uses a public car park which is 5 minutes away; you have to leave a returnable deposit of 30 Euro to get a free parking permit but you can load/unload with no problems outside the front door on a wide street. Food was very good. This hotel is used by coach parties so there was a rush for the early morning breakfast but the staff worked hard to make sure we got good service, so it wasn't really a problem. Good location in the centre of town and handy for all amenities. A good atmosphere in a comfortable, friendly family run hotel.