Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

If you're looking for discomfort, this is for you!

Posted Oct 8, 2016
I slept only a few hours because the mattress on the bed in my room was an absolute joke. I tossed and turned, and eventually got up and moved to the second bed in my room. It was just as bad. This place fails on the most fundamental level because of that one single issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Duluth, MN

Relaxing night in

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Our experience at the Old Cable House made us feel so at-home and welcomed. It was the perfect place to spend a night in instead of going out, with cozy big beds and a truly delicious dinner/breakfast cooked for you. The bathroom also had quite the impressive shower that seemed to be updated recently. Perfect for a little getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north cork

Well sign posted. Lovely welcome. Great breakfast

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Easy to find. Lots of parking space. Close to shops. Lovely people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel with a bit of history behind it.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Historical building within the lovely town of Waterville. Great service and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Close to Waterville Golf Club.

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Great value.
Allan was great and superb chef....very accommodating. Cheers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Winthrop

Less than 5 minute walk to beach

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: The bed was very comfortable, the room was nicely decorated.
Cons: The angle of the television is not adjustable and am unable to see the screen clearly.
Location: The hotel itself serves breakfast - which I slept through - and dinner, but I ate at a local restaurant. Local gift shops / crafts, arts . . .
Very nice hotel, friendly and informative staff, very comfortable - quiet relaxing - just what the doctor ordered :) hotel. Lovely location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fullerton Ca USA

Old B&B with lots of character

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The best thing was the owners Alan and Margaret. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.
Cons: Plumbing took a bit of getting used to
Location: Waterville is centrally located and a great place for day trips around the Ring of Kerry
Spent three days in Waterville with my wife and son. Had a great time Waterville is very convientant for seeing all the sights of the Ring of Kerry. Bars and restaurants are also very good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Bypass Waterville, stay in Sneem instead.

Posted May 14, 2015
Unfortunately the third member of our party couldn't make the trip at the very last moment. I understood that this place had a no cancellation policy- that's not the issue. Even though we paid for two rooms we were put into one room. Because two rooms were paid for, we each should've gotten a room to ourselves- or at least the offer. And the breakfast? Worth 3, not 10 euro. The female who greeted us was nice, the male who i dealt with in the morning is in the wrong business. Overall Waterville is a sleepy village. You'd be lucky to grab dinner at 8.30 pm so keep that in mind if you're hell-bent on spending the night here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Wonderful shower, fantastic food, bed is comfy

Posted Sep 9, 2014
The internet is spotty at this location but this is my only complaint. We stayed in room 10 and the bathroom has had a do over in recent years. The shower pressure is powerful and the open shower is what we are used to at home. The bedding was very comfortable as was the bed. Our host was helpful and a very good cook! The location is in town so it is a short walk into town, the pubs and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly Owners - Beautiful setting by the sea

Posted Apr 3, 2014
The owners were very helpful and are people people, very friendly but not intrusive. We only had breakfast at the House but it was excellent and the night before there were wonderful smells emanating from the kitchen but we were only staying one night and wanted to explore Waterville. Margaret and Alan obviously enjoy their life and know the area well.