Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with view of town and harbor

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The lobby had a nice sitting area with leather couches and tables, a fireplace, and windows overlooking the water.
Cons: The summer staff needs more supervision during their training process.
Location: Wonderful location, convenient to town, and the city bus route that will take you wherever you'd like to go.
Lovely, convenient, clean hotel on the hilltop with views of town and the harbor. Desk staff is training in June. After arriving early we were assured our requested room category (water view) would be accommodated. Taking my cell number we were told we would receive a call when the room was ready. We stowed our luggage, after instructed to drag it to an office, then to a closet, then back to the office. We then went down into town via the cablecar. Never receiving a call, we returned at 3P to find our room category had been changed to mountain view. Insisting to speak with a manager, Michelle, was apologetic and courteous and moved our room to water view. The room was clean with a great view and we enjoyed the remainder of our stay. The hotel does have a policy not to give zero balance check-out documents to Expedia members. It was unsettling since they had held a $100 charge on my credit card for incidentals, for which they refused to give me proof there were no charges posted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great Hotel in a fabulous location

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Great Hotel located above the town. Good views of the town and mountains. Restaurant has great food. Guests have free use of Tram up and down the hill($3 otherwise)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Best hotel in Ketchikan

Posted Jun 27, 2017
If I hadn't paid so much for it, I would have rated it higher except for the staff. I had to wait an hour to find out my room was cleaned and checked, they just didn't put it in the system and the desk clerk didn't ask until I returned a second time to see if it was ready.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just do it!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
This is where you want to stay in Ketchikan! Cape Fox is an authentic lodge in the heart of town. The cable tram runs from the lodge to historic Creek Street below. The rooms are spacious and comfortable (could use updating) and the lobby areas are nice as well. The restaurant is decent, large portions and a good variety. There aren't many fascinating eateries in Ketchikan (Fat Stan's is probably the best quality), so we were content to eat a few meals here. Don't waste time looking for other hotels, this is where you want to stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lodge in Alaska.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Alakan styling. Resturant. View.
Cons: WiFi
Location: Ketchikan has the best fishing and hiking.
The lodge is Alaskan and has real character and is tribally owned. The restaurant is outstanding for sea food and local favorites. The rooms are simple but clean. Unfortunately, we didnt have the promised WiFi connection and had no internet in our room during our stay. The lobby had WiFi. The staff tried but didnt fix the problem. They offered to move us to a room closer to the lobby, but that was more trouble than it was worth. Bottom line; beautiful location, lodge style rooms, nice restaurant, nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Cape Fox Lodge

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Only complaint is the restaurant end. I've worked in restaurants for a number of years, and customer service was a priority. Restaurant staff either are not properly trained, and/or management is to relaxed, and workers do what they want. 80 percent, when it was slow, disregarded tables or people wanting to be seated. Bread baskets had to be requested, where that should be automatic. Water had to be asked for, even after 3 servers walked past tables with empty glasses. Appetizers came out with the main course, as if telling customers hurry up and eat, and get out. Truly a unpleasant dining experience. No fault of the workers, just bad management. Employees and management talked so loud on the floor, one couldn't truly relax or think. And then they wonder why they aren't busier.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wa state

OK room but needs maintenance

Posted Feb 16, 2017
I arrived in the evening turned up the heat then left for dinner. When i came back the room was cold. I could not get the electric baseboard heater to work. I used the hair dryer to take the chill out. I did not call the office because I didn't want to change rooms that late at night. Next morning when I made coffee that Keurig machine didn't work. It pumped water out of the unit on to the holding tray not into the mug. I like the location of this facility and the rest of the room 611 was okay. The next night I stayed at a new Hotel in town and it was very nice, although it like the ambience of the this Hotel. The room I stayed in required steps to for access.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
The room was not very clean. There were stickers on the lamps next to the bed from previous customers and cookies under the bed. The hair dryer was broken and we let them know but nothing was done. The room was very dusty and the curtains were badly stained
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Great stay

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The staff was awesome.
Cons: the hallways were a little cold...It was snowing while we were there. Great for the Alaskan impression.
Location: Above the infamous Creek Street and located near "downtown"
Our evening flight was delayed by 4 hours and the staff waited for us and got us something to eat. They were awesome the whole time we were there. Helpful and friendly. The lodge is beautiful and the room was spacious and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel comfort poor, food excellent

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Hotel had not been updated. Everyone including staff talked about tram breaking down all the time. When we checked in the lobby was closed due to floor resurfacing and had to walk down stairs, thru gravel, and up stairs to back door to get to lobby with luggage. No signs, just other patrons informing us. Check in Person was extremely rude and unfriendly. Our room was clean with nice view. The bed was the worst bed I've slept on ever. Pillows were hard. Staff did not clean room or replenish towels after 2nd night. And then after 3rd night did not remove used and dirty mugs and provide new clean coffee cups, coffee, creamer, sugar or glassware and provided no soap. Restaurant was excellent as well as all the staff in restaurant. One hotel person was wonderful and went out of his way to help us. He was embarrassed and seemed to have pride in his job.