Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Quaint accomodations; indifferent staff.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Location. Old world charm.
Cons: Staff training/attitude.
Our room was okay, the staff was unpleasant. Considering the age of the building we were expecting quaint accommodations and we got it. Beware of the lack of elevator for those who may be affected by walking up several flights of stairs carrying your luggage. Also beware the lack of air conditioning. Our August visit saw temps in the low 70's which resulted in an uncomfortable room even with both windows open. The reception staff was slightly annoyed at my presence upon checking in - at least that's the vibe they give. Walking into the small lobby day or night didn't even warrant the receptionists attention as they were generally too busy watching videos on their phone to acknowledge our presence. That's the side of quaint that I didn't expect. I'll stay somewhere else next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham, Al

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Great location and great restaurant. Had a waterfront room. Very nice and accommodating staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Fishing vacation

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Staff and location of the Gilmore is fantastic. Rooms are small. Our room had only a bed, desk, and chair. No place to put clothes. The bathroom sink was small and the faucet knob had to be held continuously for water too come out.Staff accommodated all our needs. The Gilmore is centrally located. No rental car needed. Room mediocre, location fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great location

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Great location near the downtown area and docks. It is easy to walk almost anywhere. There is bus service for areas not in walking distance. The rooms are older and could use a plug in strip to accommodate our many devices! Very quaint rooms and wonderful restaurant next door. Coffee shop down a couple of doors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from omaha Ne

The no elevator three-story bad doorhandle expose

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Door stuck going in and out shower did not work for two days no elevator hard walking three flights of stairs at my age and these are things that need addressed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Old

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: the ambiance built in early 1900's
Cons: everything
Location: right in town, why we chose it, lots of places to walk to
love that it was part of a great restaurant but they really need to get repairs done. No elevator 3 floors, bucket in the lobby to catch drips. Shower drips all night long. Lucky if you get a room that has hot water. If you leave after the door locks cannot get back in until the night person returns to the desk and buzzes you in. No instructions on how to use the two remotes for the TV. Enough said
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old with character

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Clean & pleasant. Sent a taxi to airport ferry. Walk up on 3rd floor but carried our bags. Restaurant next door, Annabell's is convenient with very good food. Would stay again. Location right in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gilmore Hotel - Don't do it!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
The staff was friendly upon arrival, they found our keys and directed us to our room. The halls were full of old mattresses and random furniture, total clutter. We opened the door and a wave of hot air hit us like we opened an oven. The radiator was turned off, but still clanking and hissing as it generated heat. I told the front desk and the said "We know". They went on to inform us that the heat is centrally controlled and they only turn it off at night (backwards?) They suggested opening a window. I asked for another room. The only other available room had a mildew/mold funk that was not tolerable. I went back to the original room and realized the toilet didn't flush... it wasn't clogged, it didn't flush at all. We let the staff know the room was unacceptable and left.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Gilmore Hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
Rooms were old and outdated. The room was very hot, and there was no way to control the temperature. The windows opened to a small alley right above a very loud kitchen. The hallways had tons of mattresses and other furniture stacked up in every hallway, making it difficult to even get luggage through.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel

Posted May 12, 2017
Nice old historic hotel right in the downtown core. Excellent pub/restaurant attached. Nice views of the waterfront.