Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincs

Disappointing

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Bulb out of the main light and bedside light did not work at all so was dark. Maintenance needs doing. Car Park needs pot holes repaired.
Location: Great Tai / Chinese / Malaysian Restaurant down the road.
Was first offered the room behind the bar accessed from the car park, then got a room inside the hotel, carpet needs shampooing. Bathroom was very narrow. Ivy was growing in the room from the window, I know old sash window but the ivy needs cutting back. Breakfast was fantastic cooked fresh to order and plenty to have. Staff were good but the hotel needs work.
2 out of 5
by Denise

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
Needs updating, otherwise good location.
1 out of 5
by michael from Wellingborough

Give this one a miss.

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel room had not been serviced, rubbish bag and empty wine bottle left from previous occupants, window held open with a piece of wood, no wardrobe to hang clothes, hotel very tired will not stay again. When we complained to a very nice young girl on reception she changed our room.
5 out of 5
by Troy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away if you think it's a nice place.

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
On arrival at 20.55, I asked what time is restaurant open. The replie was 9 o'clock I asked if we could order now, the replie was no its closed. So I asked if you could ask kitchen, the guy reluctantly asked kitchen when he came back it was closed. So I added what time is bar open till he said 10 o'clock. We went out and had food else where, came back at 10 o'clock I went to the bar, the barmaid was cleaning the lines, so I had a bottle. My work mate came in 10 mins after and went to the bar, it was closed!!!! So we went to the woolpack down the rd. in the room there was no shower curtain, the water was all over the floor after a shower. The room door looked like it's been kicked in a few times. The beds were clean and general cleanness of hotel was ok. But the staff didn't or wouldn't go that extra 1/2 a mile. The price was cheap but I couldn't say it was value for money. I would stay there again but wouldn't go to bar or restaurant.
1 out of 5
by HEM from Slough

Rothwell House Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
They did not recognise our booking at first. Thought the room only for one person. Cramped bathroom. no towel rails in bathroom. Breakfast was so so.
2 out of 5
by Sharon from East Sussex

Very dated but with friendly staff

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is very tired and although the house instructions say that they are renovating one room at a time so as not to disturb the clientele, they clearly had not got to room 4. We had a very friendly, if a little odd, greeting on arrival. There was a ladies only "adult" party in the bar/restaurant and we interrupted & perhaps they were worried by our arrival at that point in the proceedings. The hotel reception area smelled strongly of cigarette smoke & I was hoping that was not going to be the case in the whole hotel. The room as I said was very tired, the bathroom must date back to the 1970s or 80s. We had a double and single beds, as advised. Not so keen on the placement of the double bed that was pushed up against a wall and you have to climb over one another to get in! The bedding was very fresh and crisp. Towels provided for each of us. Complimentary drinks were available. Not the most comfortable of beds. To start with we couldn't work out why the hangers were all at the bottom of the wardrobe until we realised that there was no rail on which to hang anything. We had breakfast and for £5 (£2.50 for our daughter), it was not too bad. The young lady who served us was again very friendly but certainly not what I would have called appropriately dressed for her job; in a leopardskin furry jacket. The restaurant has obviously been "done up" and looks rather smart.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
I wouldnt ever want to go near this hotel again. No cleaniness at all. I wouldnt even make a drink in my room it was that bad
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle.

Ideal for travelling workers.

Posted May 5, 2015
Poor customer service and booking process. Booked via Expedia with the confidence that name should imply. Booked for a twin room and when I rang to confirm booking on day of travel, we had been been allocated a single room. All I was told was that they ' would have a right go at the girl who made this mistake!' Not what I wanted to hear. Eventually given a double room, but experience seriously undermined by the booking error.