Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the ocean

Posted Apr 22, 2018
The website boasted a pier in which to go fishing off of or just for sitting and there was not pier/dock due to storm - the website should have indicated there was none. Same with exercise room - there was none as advertised (I like to use treadmill every day), guest laundry room was not available. Other than the web site not containing updated information, the hotel was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from grosse pointe mi

Lost their way

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Pros: great views
Cons: Service and staff are rude and not friendly
My family and I just returned from our third trip to Guntz. It is clear they have forgot what it was that made them a great location and place families like ours were loyal to. The woman at the front desk was not welcoming at all. We arrived at 1pm and she quickly stated, even before welcome or how are you today, "our check in is not until 4pm". I already knew that but expected a friendly hello and process my check in, fully understanding the room may not be ready. From there it went downhill. The hot tub was closed, and the pool was occupied with a group of people not staying at the hotel. Once vomited and the they quickly scrambled away not to be seen again. One of the Gluntz staff members admonished us for have chips and salsa under the umbrella pool side. We were there with another family and their 2 children as well. We spent over $200 per day at the bar on food and drinks at the pool, yet were still getting admonished for having "outside food". The staff was not friendly, the hotel has lost its charm and warm family hospitality it once had. They are clearly looking to maximize their profits and do not care about their guests, no matter how loyal they have been to Gluntz. There are many great places to stay in the Keys and I strongly recommend looking into staying somewhere other than Gluntz.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tigard, Oregon

Wonderful Beach location and friendly staff

Posted Mar 20, 2018
Pros: The beach location and quietness of the rooms
Location: The hotel recommended we go to the Island Fish Company for dinner and we were not disappointed. So much in fact we went back for breakfast.
We had a great time staying at Glunz. It was a last minute booking and we were very pleased with what we got. It was St Patty's day and the bar attached to the hotel had a festive and fun get together with live music. We also really appreciated that even though the bar was there the rooms were well insulated and we heard very little noise. What we liked most was being able to walk in the sand and dip our toes in the water. It was also nice to be able to support a hotel that took a big hit during hurricane Irma. They were still getting back up to full speed and apologized if there was anything not to our liking due to that. We would definitely stay at Glunz again if we are ever down in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2018 by Dawn, Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and review. We're happy you all enjoyed your stay and St. Patty's Day re-grand opening for our Tiki Bar at Havana Jack's. We look forward to your return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Nice Hotel with great views and beach

Posted Feb 6, 2018
Even though there is a lot of hurricane cleanup and closed businesses on the Florida Keys, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Glunz. The restaurant and bar were still being repaired and closed, but there was the Key Colony Inn restaurant and bar a short walk away. We loved the views of the ocean from our room and balcony. The unit had a full kitchen which was great, and the unit was spacious. The beach and ocean were really nice and we enjoyed relaxing there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2018 by Dawn, Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give give us such a nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again real soon! Safe Travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great hotel with sandy beach and pool with hot tub

Posted Jan 17, 2018 on Orbitz
Pros: That it is a smaller resort, with a nice beach. The fires by the beach where a nice place to meet other guests and enjoy conversation.
Cons: It will be even better when the onsite restaurant and bar reopen.
We spent 2 nights here. It was early January shortly after they reopened. Our room was on the 2nd floor. The view from the balcony was amazing. We set the alarm to get up early to watch the sun rise. It was a nice place to drink coffee and relax. The coffee was great, they had fresh coffee beans in the refrigerator. The weather was a little chilly, so I appreciated the robe. The pool and the hot tub where a great way to end the day under the stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2018 by Dawn, Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to you returning again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Post Hurricane

Posted Dec 27, 2017
They are really trying to get it back no tv no safe working no facilities were not told at booking
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2018 by Dawn, Guest Relations, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and will pass this information to management. We are working hard to provide excellent service after our recovery. We would love for you to return in the future and let us provide you with a great experience!
4 out of 5
by Heather

Nice Hotel..Terrible Parking... Noisy Rooms

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms were up to date, but we could hear the neighbors through the walls and they were loud and rowdy, and no one at the front desk after 10 to contact about it. Terrible parking area at this hotel!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, Fl

Nice hotel by the beach

Posted Sep 5, 2017
First time staying in this hotel. The room and the hotel is kept well. The beach area is great and the pools are great as well. Only complain is that we overpaid for this room for being on labor day weekend. But we had a nice time here so will be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

The best hotel ever!

Posted Aug 26, 2017
This has been the best hotel I've stayed in so relaxing, fun for kids and for adults and we had an unbelievable experience, we got to see new born turtles and we told the front desk. Well I really recommend this hotel it's good for everyone kids, adults everyone. If you wanna go to a good hotel go to this one i really recommend it!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
by jorge

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Our experience was excellent. The grounds are very well maintained, people very friendly and great amenities. This is an older hotel but had done a great job updating it!!! This is one of the few places where you can enjoy a nice private beach.