Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a work in progress

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: A bar & grill next door called Snappers was great. We went there every night, and it was walking distance, so we didn't have to drive. Rooms were cl
Cons: Clearer signs and more outside light. pool update would have been nice.
Location: Everything was closed in the State Park, and once the wedding was over we just lazed around and then went home. Everything is still battered, but the
Once we finally found this hotel (lack of signs, lack of light) we had another problem trying to find the front desk (no signs). Once we got to our room, it was very dark out, which I think was probably due to hurricane damager. Light switches didn't work, the room contained a very nice ice bucket and info on where the ice machine was, but the machine was out of order. Not enough wastebaskets... The bed was comfortable and clean, which was nice. But the pool was out of order, which someone should have indicated when we were booking this place, and most of the grounds were in various states of reconstruction. I know the hurricane caused much havoc, but an honest assessment would have been more beneficial, and we would have booked anyway. because had a wedding to attend. More honesty ahead of time would definitely worked in this resorts favor, in terms of a room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Excellent stay and hotel staff

Posted Dec 1, 2017
We arrived earlier than expected, and our daughter was sick with a cough and fever, and very cranky. We showed up several hours prior to check-in hoping that we could get in our room to make our daughter comfortable. We were very pleased with the hotel staff in accommodating us. Excellent water views. Restaurant/Bar right next door with friendly staff. Was happy to stay at Dove Creek Lodge and would stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable and quiet

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Quiet, comfortable, clean, ocean views, nice continental breakfast, covered parking.
Cons: Room privacy. Stock up on breakfast items. Repair the ice machine.
Location: Snappers next door is a great bar, serving good food at a fair price. We stayed for the NASCAR races at Homestead, about 45 mins away.
Stayed 5 nights in November, 2 months after Hurricane Irma, which caused a lot of damage on the Keys, especially on the ocean side where Dove Creek is located. Repairs and refurbishment were ongoing at the hotel, and at Snappers bar next door, but it wasn't intrusive, and they had done well to make the hotel grounds look attractive with replanting and landscaping. It's in a quiet location, away from the main highway, and has lovely views of the ocean. We paid extra for a suite with ocean views, and it was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was especially nice. Most of the (free) parking is under cover and well lit, so the car is shaded from the sun. Wasn't so keen on the walkway between the room and the ocean view, which meant that anyone walking past could see into the room through the full height sliding doors (see attached photo). Staff were friendly, though a little strict on rules. Don't go for breakfast at 7.29am, because they won't open the door until 7.30am. They ran out of some breakfast items every day too, including milk! The ice machine was out of order too, due to the hurricane. We liked the views from the breakfast verandah though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Good Value, Close to Everything

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, cold A/C, free use of kayaks
Cons: Wi-Fi, Parking
Location: Close to lots of great restaurants, marinas, shopping centers, dive shops and State Parks.
The office set up is a little weird, and after 7pm there's no one available if you need anything. But overall we were happy with this place. Clean room with great A/C and good balcony view. Wi-Fi service was spotty, and needs to be improved. Water pressure was good for The FL Keys (for those used to high pressure jet spray showers, you will not be satisfied anywhere in the keys). PSA - Only one aqua-duct feeds the entire FL Keys area, no water towers to increase pressure through gravitational force, so high water pressure is a luxury few can find in the keys. Snapper's Restaurant, right next to the hotel, is a good place for a decent meal, drinks and live music. We would recommend this place to friends and family.
5 out of 5
by Karen

One night stay was great

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
Great and i would visit again
4 out of 5
by patricia

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
great spot. have stayed there many times. could use an upgrade.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
This is an awesome place! Only issue we had was when checking out. I thought I had prepaid and she told me I still owed $3.00 and the credit card was declined. Don't know what credit card she was using or why this $3.00 cleaning fee is left to be paid. Seems to be an odd procedure to do for a prepaid bill. We have never run across this before. I could not get an answer for that, so paid the small amount but would like an explanation from someone before I recommend this to someone else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overpriced for what it is

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Ok hotel if you are a large group I guess, but overpriced for what it is for a couple. The Hilton is cheaper and probably has nicer accommodations. Continental breakfast was a joke. Room never got cleaned - just trash taken out and bed made, but no new sheets. Same popcorn pieces near the microwave on our room from the day we checked in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Management leaves at 7pm. If you arrive later, be aware of the check-in process. I was a bit taken by surprise but that wasn't a big deal. The rooms were nice and spacious. The bedding was comfortable. The towels were a bit rough, but the bath products made up for it. I would definitely stay here again. Wish I had more time to sit and enjoy the screened in sun room/terrace/balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely spot on Key Largo.

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Setting, facilities.
We stayed only one night but the views, setting, facility were all so pleasant, we wish we had booked more nights there. Easy to paddle, SUP, a nice open-air cafe on the premises, rooms that were simple and pretty (not overdone).