Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville TN

Great Pool

Posted May 8, 2018
Spacious townhome for a great price and great decks to hang out on. The pool is a great pool with gorgeous views. Good music playing and lowkey. The marina is cool to walk around and look at. Only complaint is the employees (security) is not the friendliest and if she is not at the gate when you come back, you may have to sit and wait for her to come back to let you in. Only happened once but not fun sitting at a gate waiting up to 5-6 minutes for her to return from her rounds. Should have another way to get in if she is not there to open the gate. Property is very clean and in a convenient location. Will definitely stay here again when we return to Largo.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2018 by Josh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Kristy. We sincerely apologize for any less than pleasant experience had with the security staff at the guard gate, though we are happy to hear you enjoyed the accommodations and amenities! We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return visit to the fabulous Florida Keys!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Spacious condo with the best pool in town!

Posted Apr 29, 2018
This was one of the best condos we have stayed in and we have stayed in many. The unit was well stocked, clean, and very large. We were a party of 3 but this condo could have comfortably fit a family of 5-6. We especially enjoyed the view from the balcony every morning and the proximity to the amazing pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2018 by Josh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, K! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback very much.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Lots of Trouble Checking in but OK once we got it!

Posted Apr 24, 2018
Pros: Location was pretty decent, and the gated access made it nice to not worry. Security on premises was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Communicaiton. They don't answer their e-mails and we had a lot of problems receiving our check in instructions in a timely manner.
Location: Some very small local free beaches, lots of places to eat and several diving/water sports areas. Highly recommend Caribbean Water Sports for a trip!
Firstly, we booked a 3 bedroom unit which was supposed to have 1 king, one queen and two twin beds. What we got was 1 king, one barely full sized bed and a room barely big enough for the day bed and the trundle bed (pull out underneath the day bed). You literally couldn't open the bedroom door if the trundle was pulled out from underneath the bed! Secondly, we did not receive our arrival instructions until after I called one day before our arrival. I ended up having to call management. After speaking to the supposed "guest services agent", Pam, who was quite rude, lied to me, and after I called her on her lie, hung up on me (twice) I finally ended up googling management's number directly and spoke to Sam. He did take care of the issue but seemed less than sympathetic that we'd had to deal with this in such a manner. Upon our arrival, we came to find that the refrigerator was filthy (I have pics). It was disgusting.In addition, the towels we were supposed to be supplied were left in the washing machine for us to dry in order to be able to use them. For this amount of money, you'd think that the mgmt company would bother to make sure that things were clean and in order! After writing a similar review on FB, I got a message from the company. They berated me for not letting them know about the fridge when we called about the television? HUH? We never called about the TV and we also had groceries that needed to be put away. I ended up cleaning the fridge myself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Customer service.

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Pros: The view and amenities were wondersul
Cons: Better maps and signage on the condos/townhouses
Location: Lots to do on Key Largo.
The door code instructions were incomplete and we had to guess and by trial and error figured out that the code needed to end with the # sign. The code was deactivated mid-week and we had to call customer service to have the door code reset. The on-site security has no access to the condo which raises a security concern in the event of a fire or medical emergency.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2018 by Josh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we're happy to hear you enjoyed the accommodations and do sincerely apologize for the trouble with your door's access code. We've just installed new locks on our properties and have updated the arrival instructions accordingly. Security does have their own code, but should only be used in case of emergency. If there's a medical emergency or fire, you should immediately dial 911.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Room not up to par - very disappointing!

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Kitchen towels were rancid in the upstairs kitchen, dishwasher had not been emptied, screws and black O-rings littered the upstairs sundeck, no shampoo/conditioner etc. in the upstairs bathrooms yet the lower bathroom was supplied, missing closet door pull in upstair bedroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2018 by Josh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Lisa. We sincerely apologize for the trouble, and lack of toiletries provided in the upstairs bathroom. You can give us a call and we'll have Housekeeping there to restock and address any issues with cleanliness.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great facilities/pool. The room wasn't up to par

Posted Mar 27, 2018
Understanding that a hurricane came through six months ago - the ground floor room had a pretty strong mildew smell. The bed also had sagging issues. The shower was tiny and the soap/towels provided were what you'd expect from an interstate motel. The grounds/marina/pool were amazing. The room just had some disappointing issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2018 by Josh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Fortunately, none of our homes sustained any damage from the hurricane. All of our homes were inspected shortly thereafter and cleared for any mold/mildew. We provide toiletries as a courtesy to our guests, which certainly go beyond the quality of what you'd fine at an interstate motel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2018
Locked out from keyless entry from moment arrived. Thought problem resolved. Locked out 2 additional times. Jetted whirlpool tub disgustingly dirty with body oils as soon as jets came on. Roof railing extremely dangerous. None of us used the roof patio because someone could early fall 3 stories. Took pics and called management. There were things we liked but overall not satisfied considering what we paid for each day. Master shower backs up when showering.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2018 by Josh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. The railing has been repaired. The Jacuzzi tub was bleached and left running to ensure circulation throughout. All of our units have new door locks now, unfortunately Lockstate had a fatal software update to the previous model which caused many problems for our guests. For our future guest's reference, if you encounter any trouble with your accommodations, please contact us immediately to afford us the opportunity to rectify the issue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Budd Lake New Jersey

Mariners club Key Largo vacation disappointment

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Pros: Swimming pools location of unit 212 to pools well equipped kitchen three baths flat panel TV's in each room washer and dryer
Cons: maintenance filthy vents miserable maintenance supervision no unit inspections before occupation no staff on grounds
Location: Key West a two hour ride worth the trip. The food nearby restaurants very good,and at Key west excellent. No usable beach, and too windy for snorkel
Booked at Mariners Resort Villas after viewing the pictures & descriptions. On 1/31 read a disturbing review about #212 mid-Jan, '18. Issues: no WiFi, no phone, A.C. not working, no grill, poor mattress, noisy fans, very dusty rooms. Called Sales Manager, told unit occupied, all issues in Villa 212 resolved We were disappointed to find none of the issues reported in review were addressed except for the AC Called Management on 2/4 asked them to address the problems. Attendant gave us the correct pswd for WiFi, took away blood stained bed linens. He said issues would be addressed on Monday first thing. Issues: WiFi/fixed Sun, toilet would not flush; telephone out; blood stained linens/fixed late Sun; Dirty carpets; Master bedroom no bath mat or extra toilet paper; 2nd bedroom fan noisy & wobbles; light 2nd bath out; no light stairway; no grill (outlet smashed); deadbolt not working; fan remote broke. Monday early no response went to office, Office Manager friendly first than turned arrogant when I told her of my call to Sales Manager on 1/31 and nothing was fixed. After further nonsense left and called rental agency for help and by Tues .afternoon the major items were fixed. Disappointed that our vacation for first three days was consumed with issues that should have been resolved when first reported to Resort management.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Florida blue skies

Posted Feb 10, 2018 on Hotels
We attended a wedding at Playa Key Largo, and Mariner's was a great place to stay for two couples in a town house. Loved to swim in the two pools with the beautiful Florida blue sky. We visited Key West for a day ( two hours away) and took a ride on the glass bottom boat into the Coral Reef. We had a bit of a difficulty getting into the house the first day, and two of the three TV's did not work. We were so busy though, it didn't matter much. When we took the glass bottom boat, we did ride along the canal and saw all the lovely houses and the great boats. We didn't get the chance to swim with the dolphins or scuba dive. Maybe next time
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2018 by Josh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Mary! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your Florida Keys getaway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelled like mold/mildew

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: Beautiful location and fantastic pool. Spent as much time as we could at pool to get out of the unit.
Cons: Remediate the mold/mildew! Obnoxious unit owners should not get in fight with renters at pool and yell at them in front of all the other guests.
Location: Great gated community, but no staff except security guard. No daily maid service in unit. Obnoxious owners treat renters as second class citizens.
Terrible smell of mold/mildew. Never went away even with running air conditioning constantly and opening patio door for some fresh air. Had to wash every piece of clothing I took when I got home because it all smelled like mildew. Ugh.... Obnoxious owners of one of the units had blue-tooth speaker at pool and got in fight with people when asked to turn it down -- pool has own outdoor speakers all around it playing music, so the portable radio was obnoxious. The "owners" started yelling at the "renters" to go to the other end of the pool and that the "owners" take priority. Really sassy nonsense. Couldn't believe they were fighting with renters in front of all the guests around the pool.....most of whom were "renters" that pay the mortgages for all the owners at this property. Other owners might want to know their rental business is going to be hurt if renters don't feel welcome and have to call the security guard to the pool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2018 by Joshua, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any less than courteous encounter with an owner onsite, it is unfortunately out of the property manager's hands. We contacted security to address the owner and guests at the pool that day. Our units are routinely inspected for mold/mildew, all of which have been cleared by a licensed professional.