Ratings based on 2,300 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Great resort, friendly staff. Didn't really need to leave the premises because it had everything that you would need. Went on the JetSki tour and it was fun! Roscoe on the tour was awesome! Constantine and Daniel at the pool were amazing. Great service! They would hand out free popsicles and complimentary Cocktail of the Day samples. Overall we had a wonderful time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Perfect Getaway!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We enjoyed every drop of our six-day stay. From the cheery welcome, to the beautiful backdrop, and even down to the virtual concierge; all our expectations were met and superceded. I can't understand why so many people posted such subpar reviews. We were half expecting a nightmare based on some of them. None of the negatives rang true for us. Our room was spotless, ample, trendily decorated, and the beds were insanely comfy! The grounds (fauna and pool alike), were clean, beautiful, and above and beyond NICER THAN ANY OTHER HOTEL/"RESORT" we saw in Key West. Honestly, it was the nicest place on the island- we saw most of them, and each time we did, we felt relief that we booked at Casa Marina. Perhaps the only thing missing from our stay, was more time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Jul 15, 2017
It was the nicest hotel I've been in. Few things that could be improved.. (1) resort fee + parking fee... parking fee should be included in the resort fee, exit gate was broken and completely missing, so anyone could have entered anyway, so what's the benefit. (2) pool was dirty and warm, pool waiters seemed to cater more to drunk guests instead of all. (3) shower grout was dirty and black. Other than these, it was a great experience and we are looking forward to coming back someday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

A/C Problems...Again

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Rooms were clean.
Cons: Breakfast buffet was WAY TOO EXPENSIVE. $29.99 is ridiculous. Need more attention to guests at the pool...everyone comes there to relax!
Location: Convenient, easy to find, away from the party scene.
This is the second year in a row that we stayed at Casa Marina. It's a very nice hotel/resort. But both years, we have had A/C problems in our room. This year, the A/C was out. We reported it to the maintenance staff and it was repaired (affected our room plus two next to us). However, two days later they told us that we had to change rooms becuase they needed to do more work on the unit to fix it in the other two rooms again. It was our last night of vacation and the last thing we wanted to do was to pack everything up in a hurry since we had to pack for our check out the next day. We moved and when we asked about compensation for the problem, we were told that they upgraded us to a room with a balcony. This is on our last night...and the room was at the farthest end of the property instead of right in the middle where we were which was more convenient. I finally got the manager to refund us $200 of the $379 room, but seriously they should have comped the whole thing. Last year when our A/C was out for five hours, they gave us 1/2 of our room cost back. Not happy that the A/C was an issue again. The pool staff was probably understaffed because they were not nearly as attentive to the guests this year as last year. Last year we felt like we were totally pampered. This year, we felt like we had to do everything ourselves to get drinks or towels. Kind of put a damper on our trip. Not sure we'll go back next year which is a shame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhodes

One of the Best Resorts in Key West

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We had a wonderful time at this resort. Staff was really nice and helpful. The pool/beach staff was extremely nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach

"5" Star Hotel next to the beach

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location, adult pool
Cons: All rooms need to be renovated. Paint is chipped, bath sink stand all hacked up at the bottom, some wall stains, etc..
Overall the staff and food is fine. However, the interior of the rooms are tired and in desperate need of renewal. For the room rate charged, we were very surprised by the condition of the room. We've stayed in many U.S. beach resorts and do not recommend this property for the cost of the room+parking. The roosters are protected but I called a few other hotels who assured me they have fences to prevent the early morning crowing that some folks might think "quaint" but not us wanting a bit of a sleep in. Overall, disappointing experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Beautiful old school Key West hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Lovely hotel with beautiful grounds and a beach. We girls enjoyed our stay and were well taken care of by all staff and hospitality people. The two down side were the broken ice machines and elevators in the suites wing. We were given an upgraded ocean view room in the original building and were very pleased. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Posted Jun 30, 2017
We had a great time. Our 12-year-old son loved the pool and our 16-year old loved jet skiing. Everyone enjoyed the private beach. It is a nice family-friendly, but also attractive for those without kids hotel in a relatively quiet location, but still a relatively short walk to Duval Street. We are a two-dad family, which was a non-issue. Only challenge was that the elevator was out of service for our entire visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Decided not to stay

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The hotel is nice enough but the room we were allocated was small with a view of a wall and AC unit. The bathroom was tiny. We asked to look at an upgraded room which was dreary and no better than a budget hotel. The beach is tiny and was crowded when we arrived. The young lady on reception didn't smile and was robotic in her nature. We decided not to stay and drove back to Miami.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Failing Management

Posted Jun 22, 2017
A reputable hotel is one with the most experienced staff, especially in situations where the safety and integrity of a guest are at stake. Higher-rank authorities of Casa Marina Resort in Key West, Florida are clueless! In three separate occasions in the past, managers there totally failed to act when needed. In our last visit in March 2017, one of the hotel security guards physically attacked my son who was fishing off a pier that belongs to the hotel as always. It seemed that the incompetent guard was new on the job and the situation escalated to a serious level. During this saga, we contacted both the Manager and the General Manager, who failed miserably to control the situation. Later in the day, the General Manager apologized for the “under-trained guard.” Unfortunately the damage was done and our vacation was ruined. My son is still traumatized because of the incident till today. We later wrote a complaint to the customer support department of the parent chain and nothing was done.