Ratings based on 1,427 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: The breakfast and staff was the best!!
Cons: Needs some updating
Location: Easy access to downtown Key West
The breakfast and staff was the best!! Easy access to downtown Key West.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and give you a five star experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bradenton Florida

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Air conditioner so loud could not sleep. When I told them about it they just looked at me with no expression on their face.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by FFIS Key West, GM, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you did not rest well. I am also very sorry if our staff was not as responsive as you expected. I will certainly review your concerns with our team. Thank you very much!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Room with no view, small, but clean

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Our room even you are at a paradise didn't have view, my view it's the elevator. It's too small and the air conditioner it's old so sounds like a big machine inside the room. My overall is 3 of 5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by FFIS Key West, GM, Hotel Management
I am very sorry if you were not comfortable for any reason. We are very grateful for your comments.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Please don't book the standard size room it has a motel type look and feel. Very small and bathroom felt like a closet. Room had a strong smell of cigarettes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by FFIS Key West, GM, Hotel Management
I certainly apologize if your room did not meet your expectations. We are very grateful for your patience and feedback.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel, but room is small

Posted Aug 27, 2017
The hotel staff are very friendly and the facility is in very good condition. The swimming pool is large and nice. The only downside is that the room is too small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and sharing your recent experience. We pride ourselves on providing unparalleled stays for our guests, so we are pleased that you found both comfort and convenience during your stay. We appreciate your loyalty and hope to serve you again and will strive to make your next stay five stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

Beautiful resort with some issues

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, lobby and pool area
Cons: Make sure ac works. Do something about annoying flapping sound. Provide a shuttle between 4 Marriott hotels.
The hotel had what we wanted. Breakfast, microwave and fridge in room. Room was small, no desk. Breakfast was plentiful, usually same breakfast all 6 days. Our AC did not work properly. Was set at 75 and went up to 78 at night. Had to get up to have it start. Asked for a quiet room. At night there was this constant, annoying flapping that made falling asleep hard. When air was on did not hear it. Thank goodness for ear plugs. Overall a nice place to stay. Is it worth the price? No. Should have a shuttle into town. If you can stay closer to Duval St. that is where all the action is. Finding parking, not easy. Mattress was not very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our goal is to always provide the best possible service our guests come to expect and deserve. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and give you a five star experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very nice hotel. Comfortable secure place

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Breakfast was great, people were friendly. The beds were very comfortable. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dlvwmn, Thank you for the great review of our hotel. It is always nice to read that our guests enjoyed their time with us and that the service exceeded expectations. The team and I take great pride in our hotel service and I will be sure to share your review with them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Beautiful hotel and great amenities

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We absolutely loved our stay at the Fairfield inn in key west. First time in key west and an absolute blast. The pool side is exactly how you'd imagine it and more , such a relaxing time spent by the pool. The rooms are nice and clean not as spacious but perfect for the duration of our stay. The breakfast was decent but located nicely next to the pool and bar. There's a Taco Bell and Starbucks which was very convenient for us. The only downfall was that it was a little far from downtown so a form of transportation was always required. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Anisah, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West. I thank you for this great review and am glad to read of your wonderful experience. Please come back and visit us soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Terrible

Posted Aug 20, 2017
As soon as we got in the room got bit by a bug. There's no safe in the room, the breakfast sucked your staff doesn't even speak English all you hear is traffic noise. Before you jump in the pool and make sure there's no iguana feces. There was feces all over the pool deck and in the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by FFIS Key West, GM, Hotel Management
I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our hotel. We work very closely with our partners at Ecolab to control any possible pest issues. We are not aware of any issues of any type at this time. They conduced a re-inspection just today as part of their periodic maintenance. I am also sorry that you did not enjoy the local wildlife. The iguanas are typically a big hit with our visitors. Again, I do apologize if you did not feel the same.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Pleasant stay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Rooms are fin and so is the free breakfast.
Location: The hotel was fine but getting to the Key West historic district was difficult. Buses are 2-3 hours apart and hard to find stops. Parking is hard.
The hotel was fine - see below for location problems
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our goal is to always provide the best possible service our guests come to expect and deserve. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and give you a five star experience.