Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice place

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Condition and comfort of room
Cons: The walls and ceilings are a bit thin , and can hear neighbors ,but not to the point that we were disrupted.
Location: Real close to Mount Rushmore and right on the main drag of Keystone .
The hotel was in great condition,it was clean,the staff was always cleaning and were very friendly. The breakfast was nice with many options. The lady working the breakfast was very nice and obviously takes great pride in her work .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place within minutes of Mount Rushmore

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds, nice spa hot tub and pool, good free breakfast.
Cons: Parking is tight and somewhat limited at the motel but there is overflow parking close.
Location: Great place to stay that's minutes from Mount Rushmore and very near Custer State Park. Fairly close to Crazy Horse as well.
Friendly staff. Very nice hot tub/spa and pool. There was a fair amount to chose from for the free (included) breakfast and it was tasty. The bed was comfortable and the room was fairly nice; our room was just a little small (fine for one night though). Minutes from Mount Rushmore and part of Custer State Park. Crazy Horse is fairly close as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ma.

nice hotel. quaint town.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: it was clean and people were friendly and helpful.
Cons: the bathroom was quite small.
Location: it was a good home base for everything we wanted to see. the town was quaint. mount Rushmore, 1880 train ride, Custer state park, hill city .
it was the center of everything we wanted to see.the weather was great. the breakfast was good. the scenery was awesome. I didn't realize how beautiful this part of our country was. The night show at mount Rushmore made me proud to be an American.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recently updated. Close to fun stuff.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Welcoming staff. Good breakfast. Comfortable beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Excellent hotel. Great friendly staff. Free parking when the hotel is located at a tight spot and great location. Excellent pool area, room was clean, beds were super comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. I couldn't ask for more. I am 100% staying here if I visit Rushmore again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice !!!

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Stayed on the third floor and was impressed to know that breakfast was served on the third floor rather than down by the lobby.
Just stayed one night, but it was pleasant !!! Clean and refreshing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keystone, SD

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Awesome very nice hotel very friendly & helpful staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

OK

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Price was reasonable for tourist season.
Typical, low-end hotel in a tourist town. Staff was hard to find for check-in. Bed was supposed to be "queen," but they seemed small. Breakfast was adequate, but not very appetizing. Worst part was the parking lot. Not a good place if you have a full-sized car, truck, or SUV.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

too close for comfort

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: It is close to Mt Rushmore and is a good base while exploring the Black Hills. The staff are super nice and helpfull
Cons: Work on making the small but cozy rooms not so cozy and small . Maybe a few less chairs, room to walk around the beds
Location: It is central to Mt Rushmore, also the board walk has a lot of gift shops near by and you can go to Hill City, Custer State park and much more.
The room we had was what I found out later is called a "cozy and small" room. The pictures on the website shows the standard double queen room and that is not what we had. Our room had two queen beds but they were located with side one of each bed against a walls, with the conventional nightstand in between the two beds. There was no room to move the beds otherwise. You literally only could get the into the bed by climbing in on the side which was not against the wall or by crawling up from the end of the bed. This was an issue for my family for four. One bed had the air conditioner located literally at the foot of the bed with the one window for the room right over it. We had to hang towels over the edges of the curtains as the light from the exterior light which is located right by the door shined in and reflected off the full length mirror located immediately to the left of the door and on to the bed. by The bathroom was just a tiny with barely room for the toilet and bathtub. The staff was very helpful, they worked with my daughter when we tried to get on the WFI, which was not easy to get on to or stay on. The same with the staff in the morning who manned the hot breakfast, which was pretty good for a free hotel breakfast. They kept things stocked, helped with the pancake machine and just kept the dining area clean and inviting. The pool was good size and it was clean with had plenty of towels available.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheaper Hotel for the Eclipse

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Furniture pieces, price, location
Cons: Sound-proofing. Clean more thoroughly. Breakfast food that isn't the cheapest food you can possibly purchase.
Location: Keystone Strip. Could even walk up to Mount Rushmore if you're the least bit in shape.
Looking for a cheap hotel that will get you by? This will work. You're right at the end of the Keystone Strip so would be a great location for those looking to walk it. Rooms are cozy but they didn't clean on the side of the bed, lots of dust and dirt. The room was noisy as the walls are paper thin and we ended up above the pool. Nice furniture and finishing touches. Breakfast was not great but it was food. I don't know. I guess I had too high of expectations based on the high reviews. It's a 2 star hotel experience for a 2 star hotel price. They up the room price just like everyone else around the eclipse so that's not a big deal. Overflow parking was odd but worked out fine for us. Friendly front desk and breakfast attendant.