Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great but not a bad place to stay

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed there 2 nights and 1 day. Mostly we used it as a sleepover to see the temples in the area. It was good value for the money and we'd recommend it. Our room was clean and large. We didn't really challenge the staff in any way to provide service so can't say we got anything more than what the average person would expect. We did ask if they could exchange some 2000INR notes into 100s and they could not. That said, only a few hotels have been able to do so but this was not one of them. My thoughts are they provide all the basis service and expectation and do that fine. I have no evidence they go beyond that for the customer.
5 out of 5
by Gusteau from USA

Outstanding

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I have stayed at Hotel Chandela Khajuraho at the end of June. We were going to stay for 2 days, but we ended up staying for one more day because of the outstanding service that guests receive from the entire staff from the Front Desk personnel to the restaurant staff. In addition to the Front Office Manager, Sidhant Arora, who makes sure that you can move around in the best possible conditions, we want to mention the bar manager, Semi, who did his best to introduce us to Indian food, and the best way to savor Indian food. Among other drinks, he made a multi layer tea for us in spite of the fact that this is done more in the North than in Khajuraho. We highly recommend Hotel Chandela whenever you are in Khajuraho.
5 out of 5
by Deanna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Dominic from Calgary, AB, Canada

Great value and amenities

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
While visiting Khajuraho for 2 nights, a friend and I shared a room here. Overall we found the stay really nice for its price, and amenities offered were great. The hotel location is a 10min walk to the downtown and western temples, but well situated in my opinion (close to airport and train station). Likely renovated last in the early 2000s, the rooms still felt comfortable and spacious. The bed and pillows were medium firmness, and the bathroom was relatively modern and included a hair dryer. A safe and fridge were also available. Air conditioning was available and the room temperature always felt comfortable. WiFi throughout the premises was ok at best, but videos weren't able to be streamed and only two devices could be connected to each room. A premium WiFi was available but I'm unsure of the cost or benefits. As for amenities: cable TV, breakfast buffet, restaurant, bar, WiFi, outdoor pool, massage, free bike rentals, pool table, ping pong table, and dart board. The massage was mediocre at best, but the remainder of the amenities were fantastic. Overall I found this hotel to be relatively modern, and a great hub for exploring Khajuraho over 1-2 days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Excellent front desk service. They hired an excellent guide for us one day and were very accommodating with late check out. I left a jacket in my room and they have been very good about communicating and arranging to have it mailed to me. I have not received it yet, but feel that they will be sure to follow through. Dinner was simple but well prepared.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel except for aged-looking lobby / carpet

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Food & indoors of the room
Cons: Lobby appearance
Location: Close to Western group of temples
Nice room and great food in the restaurant. Nice hotel except for aged-looking lobby / carpet
3 out of 5
by Arindom

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Surendra R.

Trip to khajuraho

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Orbitz
For $160 per day, the room was substandard. It should not be called a Taj hotel property. The bed was very uncomfortable and one could feel the patterns on the cover on the mattress. AC was just blowing little cool air. AC temperature couldn't be adjusted in the room. When I complained the manager kindly offered free breakfast for one day. We were also informed that the room will be changed when ready but no one followed up on the promise from the manager. Again we were offered free breakfast. Overall the accommodation offered by this hotel is not worth $160 per day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Nice hotel, close to the temples

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: clean, friendly staff, close to the temples
Cons: Internet service ~ free "basic" service (good to check emails and Facebook only) was almost non-existent. premium package very slow to non-existent
Location: 3 miles from the airport, about 0.5-1 mile from the temples;
Nice hotel, clean with good service. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Pool area was lovely. Masseuse was wonderful!