Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and beautiful hotel.

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great place and beautiful views
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel right on the beach.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms. Helpful staff and beautiful gardens.
Cons: Bin at the honeymoon pool wasn't emptied in the ten days we were there. Rubbish was overflowing from day one yet ignored by staff.
Location: Plenty of shops and places to eat nearby. Night market is within walking distance.
We enjoyed 10 nights here. Very quiet and relaxing holiday.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Don't care, won't be back.
We had booked a trip to Thailand, with 3 nights at one very special Resort (The Surin) with a further 7 nights at the Mukdara in Khao Lak. Both parts of the trip were fully paid. We enjoy new adventures, meeting new people, interacting with fellow guests and having fun with staff at resorts during our stays, pretty normal. When we arrived at the Mukdara we were shown to our room. We asked to be moved because a nearby room had leaking gray water/ sewerage which gave off a bit of a stink. The Duty Manager was helpful in getting us settled into our new room. Our new room had giant red ants appearing every now and then, who knows what their bite would be like. No-one offered to deal with that. We were unhappy because the Mukdara was obviously not the place for us. It offered none of the things we look for on a holidays, nor did the beach look anything like a booking engine’s website we booked through, except for the swimming pool which was good. The rooms weren’t bad, a bit dark inside, but otherwise ok. It seemed to us that the Mukdara appears to cater only for mainly Germans and Asians. The “tour desk” which was a table in the lobby, with no attendant in sight, had only tour information in the German language. There were dogs on the beach, who frequented the breakfast buffet and the German tourists loved to feed them and the staff did nothing about it. Also the staff liked to adjust their nasal passages, while on meal / restaurant/bar attendance.
5 out of 5
by Tariq from London

An amazing hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel with several pools and great gym. Huge breakfast with lots of choice and a Lovely glass bathroom. One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phuket

Mukdara review in the wet season

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The swimming pools, the low season room costs, the breakfast and the staff.
Cons: Air conditioner maintenance and internal and external mosquito control.
Low season in Khao Lak isn't just a change in the weather and ocean current's. The reduction in tourists and the change of the weather effects all businesses and certainly the resorts. The Mukdara resort is an older resort. It was quite pretty with great pools and located in a nice spot with beach access and within walking distance to some local restaurants, bars and the nightly market. Traveling with a young family we were restricted to the room for most of our 2 day stay. The room itself was large and included all the usual trimmings but a dusty air con system and plenty of hungry mosquitos made for an uncomfortable couple of nights. The breakfast was reasonable and happy hour cocktails were quite cheap. Pity that there isn't enough tourists to add some atmosphere to the resorts restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room , restaurant but wifi shoud be fixed

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
Everything is great. But the wifi connection is not good. I try to use my iphone and ipad and mac book to connect to the hotel wifi, but it doesn't work. The hotel shoud check for wifi availability.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corby England

Nice hotel with beach front

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Nice location and the staff are very friendly
Cons: There is no shaded area to sit and relax out off the sun and heat.sun beds that have towl on them and not used all day as the poeple are down at beach
Location: local bars and eating all good had many a good time
Our stay was good better than I expected it to be the heat was over the top for us as there are no shaded areas to get out off the heat. the room was first class and cool but there was no way you could sit out on the balcony as the heat was draing.
2 out of 5
by valerie from bruxelles

Could have been much better

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 2 days at the Mukdara, left for a couple of days to Kao Sok and came back to spend another 6 days at the hotel. Hotel is quite big but nice, well located, has a nice tropical garden, a large and a small swimming pool, with plenty of sun chairs to relax. Room is nice and clean, with a nice little balcony overlooking the pool. Although the first 2 days were quite agreable, our second stay, right after New Year turned out to be a real Oktober Feest, with plenty of very noisy german guests squatting the pools and pool bars, shouting and laughing out loud from morning to evening, preventing anyone else from enjoying any quiet moment. Our only experience at the restaurant did not turn out as it should have either, with hot Margarita's served and sent back, starters forgotten, Pad Thai served with shrimps although ordered with chicken, sent back too. Dish finally came back with chicken...and raw vegetables as it was rushed ouf the kitchen.
4 out of 5
by Roman from Berlin

The hotel and rooms are ok, love to Details missed

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was ok, nothing special