Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dani from Muenchen, Bayern

good clean quiet hotel

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: quiet, great staff
Cons: a gym
Location: close to khoasan road
great location close to khoasan road; very friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by Kelly from Toronto

New World City isn't so new.

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels
Let's start with the positive, the location is fantatsic and the staff is helpful and friendly. Everything else is down hill from there. The hotel is attached and owned to a much more modern and upgraded hotel, the New World Hotel. Wish I stayed there instead. The New World City's rooms looked like slightly larger versions of dorm rooms. Everything about the materials and furnature seemed outdated and hospital-like. Beds are unconfortable. Wifi was spotty. Cleanliness was decent.
2 out of 5
by danielleraeg from Alice Springs, Australia

First impressions didn't last

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels
Room itself fine - clean, goof wifi, complimentary water, reasonably comfortable bed (on par with budget accommodation in SE Asia, a little hard but okay). Hotel is located near Khao San Road, the Palace and Wat Pho so if these things are on your 'to see' list, then the location is great. The only issues I had were regarding service. I experienced difficulty as I had two bookings (night 1 - tour group, night 2, my own) trying to find out if they required me to change rooms. I asked 3 different staff members and only the third, I think the manager, was able to assist me. Not a huge deal, but a little frustrating. On my second morning I went to access the complimentary breakfast that was listed on my booking as being provided as an inclusion. Long story short was that despite my complaining and showing my booking details, they refused to allow me to have my breakfast. In practice not a huge deal - however what was frustrating for me was the quality (or lackthereof!) of service in dealing with this issue. The cost of a buffet breakfast per person is minimal for a hotel and given that my booking very clearly stated that it includes breakfast, I think it would have been more appropriate for the hotel staff to just accommodate. In some ways an interesting experience of the difference between Western and Asian views of 'the rules' and enforcing them. On the basis of this final experience, I probably wouldn't return, just left a sour taste in my mouth.
3 out of 5
by Ray from London

Good hotel for the money

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels
Good value for money. One step up from staying in a hostel in that you have your own private toilet and shower. Beware there is a renovation going on at the moment (Jan 2014) and the noise/vibration will wake you up as the workmen start work early. 5 mins walk to Khao San Road.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels
has plenty of western food around the hotel.. is close to Khao san road with even more restaurants. internet is fast. staff is friendly. TV was very old and had no clear picture.. it should be in a museum..
3 out of 5
by Rio from South Korea

A bit old but good for value

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels
I stayed here for 2nights. I was looking for a hotel nearby kaosan road and clean one. It takes about 10 minutes to kaosan road. The room was very big but little bit old. This hotel and Nouvo city hotel is connected. The drawback about this hotel is .. like other lodge around kaosan road, it is not easy to get to hotel. phayathai station is the closest one from Kaosan road. So I had to get off at the station and tried to take tuktuk, which was my mistake, the driver didn't know where the hotel is but was willing to take me. Finally he took me completely wrong place and lied to me that's New world city hotel. It was one of my bad memory during my trip.
1 out of 5
by Phill from Atlanta, GA

Complete dump in good location

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels
When the taxi dropped me off in front of the hotel, I thought "this might not be bad." The lobby area was open and looked modern. Unfortunately, when I told the front desk person that I had booked at the New World City, she advised me that this was the Nouvo City Hotel and that my hotel was connected to it by a small hallway. I walked through the hallway and when I reached the front desk of the New World City Hotel I was really disappointed. The lobby was not well lit and smelled moldy. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. My room was on the 5th floor and the bell boy advised me that renovations were in progress. Unfortunately, my room had not been renovated! It was a complete dump! The head board for the bed was missing but 4 screws left remained in the wall exposed. The table next to the bed looks like it had not been cleaned in a while. The AC struggled to keep the smelly room cool. The bathroom was dimly lit but functional. Overall, if you're not lucky enough to stay in a renovated room, you'll be staying in a crack house room. I've stayed in budget hotels around the world and new not to expect the Hilton. But, Thai hotels take pride in their cleanliness. NOT THIS ONE! I should spent the extra $20US and stayed next door at Nuovo City!
4 out of 5
by maria from pompano beach

well worh the $

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels
Excellent Internet connection in the rooms. Excellent breakfast. Close to many things of interest. English speaking front desk. Clean rooms. Excellent a.c. don't get scared when you come to the entrance of the hotel. Its very unpretentious. Very safe. Not posh but I stayed here 5 nights and it was comfortable. Tours available on the premises.
4 out of 5
by st_london from london, uk

close to kao san rd, but far enough away to be anp

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels
Less than 5 min walk to all San road and even better rambuttri road. However it's much saner than those. Right on the canal. Connected to Nuovo Hotel so they share a lot of amenities. Breakfast was really good. The attached Nuovo Hotel's restaurant, Sara, looked like it catered just to westerners (bland looking, though we didn't eat there so I can't say for sure) so we went across the street to Comfy House and had the best food we've had in our entire month in Thailand!!!
2 out of 5
by Nick from UK

Disappointing

Posted Jun 14, 2013 on Hotels
I have stayed here many times, but I was very disappointed this time...I booked a room with either a city view or river view from my comfortable balcony, but what I got was a view of 144 backs of air con machines & a wall. The noise form all those machines doesn't exactly make a person feel comfortable.. The hotel itself & staff are nice though, & the location is ideal for me..I'd still stay there again, but will make sure I get an actual view next time.