Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very small rooms

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Rooms are very small and bathroom is smaller. Don't upgrade to a double the room is a twin room with an extra bed. There's construction so a bit noisy and asked for a front room and was told it will be noisy too. I saw maybe 10 people out front all day and there is no traffic. He tried to charge me for breakfast though I already paid for it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Hotel located in downtown Kiel, Germany

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The staff was helpful by letting us know what there is to do in the area. The breakfast was better than the usual "continental breakfast."
Cons: The room was very small but clean. The shower stall was also small. The hotel could use some general maintenance.
Location: This is a port city. Lots of shopping. Best thing to do is hop a ferry and go to Laboe, about an hour ride to the Baltic sea.
We arrived, via train, at the Hauptbahnhof in the port city of Kiel. After navigating the winding streets, we found the hotel tucked on a side street in the center of town. Having a GPS was helpful in finding the hotel. An quaint old elevator with two doors took us upstairs. The steps are narrow and somewhat steep! The room did not look like the one on the website. It was much smaller and in need of some general maintenance. There were many places to shop in town and cruise ships were in the harbor. There was an open market daily with fresh fruits and vegetables. Also street vendors selling pretzels, local sausages, cheeses and pizza. You will need good walking shoes as the roads and sidewalks are cobblestone. Several good restaurants are located close to the hotel. Plenty of beer and ice cream for all! There is quite a bit of new construction in the town that makes it rather noisy. There wasn't much to do in town other than shopping. The friendly staff at the hotel told us about the ferry to Laboe. The ride took about an hour and was well worth the trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fairly central hotel

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Easy to locate, free wi-fi
Cons: Larger room
Location: Easy to locate & fairly central
Easy to find , helpful staff, hotel currently under renovation, our room was compact, would recommend to budget conscious traveller
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Germany

Nice location

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Close to restaurants, boutiques, and the University Eye Clinic where my husband had surgery. Staff was very friendly, and helpful.
Cons: They need newer mattresses. They also need to know the difference between a queen and double bed.
Location: There are about 27 restaurants in that area as well as nice boutiques. The hotel is about ten minutes by taxi from the Bahnhof. close to the harbor.
This hotel is near many restaurants and boutiques. The staff were very attentive and friendly. Check in was quick. I asked for a queen sized bed but got a double and a very soft mattress so when my husband and laid down we sort of sunk into the mattress. The bed was comfortable when only one person was sleeping on it. The room was clean but small, typical of European hotels. There was a moldy smell in the bathroom but I got rid of it with room freshener. I enjoyed my stay despite the small inconvenience and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2016 by Ihr Team vom Nordic Hotel am Kieler Schloss, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your warm review. And also thank you for your critical words. We will talk to our technical colleges to repair it. Kind regards
5 out of 5
by griff from usa

amazing hotel for the price

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels
Wow got a great price for this hotel, it was in the perfect location the room was very clean and had everything I needed. It has 4 smoking rooms which was amazing in this day and age, The staff were top notch and it came with a free breakfast. ...I loved it and would recommend this hotel to anyone because it was great value for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wolfmanone from Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

KielerVisiter

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Location to the Centrum and fine restaurants and bakeries, shopping mall very close too
Cons: If you're a non smoker make sure you tell them...I ordered a Non Smoking room and got a heavily smoke odoured room which I quickly had changed.
Location: Shopping, bakeries and restaurants all close by.
This hotel was sufficient for our needs, only visiting relatives for 2 days . found room somewhat tight quarters with 2 large suitcases and backpacks. Bed was comfortable but could have had better pillows. We did not use their breakfast aas wwe preferred to try the local bakeries and their fine breads and delights.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap- Good Location

Posted Sep 17, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: The room
Location: In the heart of the city
Great location but paid for in general discomfort. You'll be motivated to get and about as hanging out in your room won't be an attractive option. The internet never worked while I was there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of "small double rooms"!

Posted Aug 21, 2012 on Hotels
Too late we discovered that at this hotel a "small double room" is a crammed single room (said so on the inside of the cupboard." Very small indeed, only one bed lamp - and you had to stumble over your spouse get to the other side of the bed. Is this really OK with hotels.com? Further complication was that staff was really not English speaking, Nice location, though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton UK

Fitting for a week

Posted Dec 13, 2011
I traveled to Kiel on business and was pleased that this hotel was centrally located. Many shops and restaurants (and the Christmas market) were very close by. My only negatives were that the bed was not very comfortable, and the "included" coffee was not an in room provision, but was located in a carafe at reception. Other than those two things I was happy with this hotel and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen

Location

Posted Dec 8, 2011 on Hotels
Best location in Kiel.....Quite neighborhood, but very close to the shopping area. Breakfast standard, but very good. Best value for the money.....:-)