Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super small, good location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel is super small . HOwever, the continental breakfast is very good and the location is excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room was to small. Not enough space!

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Good but the room was to small not enough space!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic in name basic in nature

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: decor and cleanliness of public areas.
The hotel is excellently placed in central Kiel but it is decidedly shabby and in need of redecoration. The rooms were, however, clean, comfortable and had en suite facilities. The hotel reception was closed on arrival and I had to go to another hotel to check in. Some VERY noisy guests on Saturday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westlake

A nice hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: It's location to everything to do and see in Kiel
Location: The harbour, the mall,
It is in the name - basic. There is no lift but the room was clean, wifi good, location was excellent, breakfast was fresh and filling. The hotel staff , of what I saw of them were pleasant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible service

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: To have an Elevator
Dear Expedia First of all I will say that its not NICE to lie to people. Imagine get to a Hotel after 20 hours flying with bags of 50 pounds and someone from the Hotel tells you that there is NO elevator and your room is on the 4th floor. I will request a refund, in a case you guys make a contract with a hotel without elevator, please let people know. really disappointed about Expedia and the Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Big Pine Key, Florida

Near the cruise ships

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
The room was small and there is no lift nor AC, but we didn't need it for long. Right by the shopping district and the mall. Walking distance to cruise ships maybe a mile.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Close to the cruise port and train station

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Good and friendly staff. Location close to the cruise port and train station. Rooms vey very small. No elevator, no air conditioning in the room. Rooms and bathrooms need improvements.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by -Front Office Manager-, Hotel Management
Dear Agnes, thank you for your feedback. We are already looking for solutions to these problems. Best regards Sarah Hansen
5 out of 5
by Eleanor from Dublin

Enjoyable Visit

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this hotel. Very well located and staff were very friendly and helpful. Bedroom was basic but very clean. Breakfast .was excellent
2 out of 5
by JONATHAN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Andrew from Bangor

OK if you just want a cheap bed

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
Cheap and super basic, but not comfortable/modern/quiet enough for my own personal tastes. The hotel is not as smart as the photos show, both inside and outside. Dark and regrettably drab inside and outside, it's not an "inviting" hotel. However, it is close to the main train station (easy 10 minute walk) and the reception was very helpful.