Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine, but there are others cheaper and better.

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Clean, decent rooms with nice bathroom. Good breakfast, pleasant staff.
Cons: Smell of smoke in some rooms. Overpriced compared to others nearby.
Location: Walking distance from Maidan square so very central. Plenty to see in Kiev. I'd recommend Pechersk Lavra complex with churches and monk's caves.
The hotel is tucked away down a roadway with barrier, so easily missed if you are finding it yourself. I was given a room which smelled strongly of smoke, despite requesting non-smoking. I asked if another one was available and the receptionist obliged. The new room was fine. Having arrived late we asked if snacks were available and we received sandwiches made with stale bread, only edible because we were hungry. The hotel was quiet and clean. Decor is a little over-the-top but interesting and adds local colour. We left luggage to be stored for the day after checkout with no problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: The room
Cons: The Kitchen and food
Location: Not in the center but not far to walk
Not much facility Not good lobby Location not so good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

The pool is an extra fee

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Overall, this was a fine hotel experience because the location was very good and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were too hard for my taste, but that is just me. My main complaint about this place was that the pool which was described as an amenity turned out to be a special, extra fee, reservation required option. The other thing which I didn't understand was that they said the pool was "inside" the sauna. Don't know what that means. The other thing which I was surprised by was that they claimed to have breakfast at the hotel, but when we showed up for breakfast, they did not have anything on their menu. All the had was eggs which were not on their menu. For this, they overcharged and took a crazy amount of time to prepare. So don't get the breakfast and don't expect a pool and you should have a fine experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, a few oddities.

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Simpler wifi connectivity, No water issues.
Location: Near all major Kiev attractions (St. Sophia cathedral etc.).
Nice location near the downtown area and all major tourist attractions in Kiev. On the top of a big hill from the nearest metro station so not advisable for the weak of heart! A few oddities during the stay - no hot water one morning (although they had a water outage the next day to presumably fix something), breakfast a bit odd by western standards (but OK), and wifi system that needed special sign in codes that were a hassle. Generally a clean place and decent value for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi, UAE

Value for money

Posted Apr 26, 2013
Great location - close to the Church & the town square & lots of restaurants - ideal for tourists who wish to walk around this beautiful city. It is a small hotel - decent and clean. The free internet has a speed good enough for moderate browsing. Limited options for breakfast (served in the bar) but the quality is good. The staff spoke good English and were ready to help with a smile. Be prepared to carry your luggage down a flight of steps as you enter the hotel. Rooms are a bit small and the shower may not be comfortable for moderately fat guests. Overall, it was a good deal for the tariff paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by William from Wichita, KS

Very nice Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2012
Cons: The room was a bit small for me, but I like bigger hotel rooms
Location: In the center of the city so very good for traveling. It is located at the top of a hill so be prepared for an incline!
Before I went there I heard some bad review but decided to take a chance. I'm glad I did - I found the hotel to always be clean and the staff very friendly as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Would stay there again.

Posted Apr 22, 2010
I chose Gintama after reading favourable reviews on some other sites and was not disappointed. The staff were friendly and spoke reasonably good English. The room was very clean and the location excellent, albeit a bit of a climb up the hill from Independence Square. Most importantly I felt safe staying at the hotel and getting lost in the surrounding neighbourhoods (by day). It's in a quiet location opposite a park where you can buy a beer and sit with the locals on a sunny Sunday afternoon. Perhaps 10 minutes walk from Independence Square and 5 minutes from Kreshchatik St. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend Gintama to anyone staying in Kiev for business or a holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 愛知県

小さいですが綺麗なホテルです

Posted Oct 26, 2016
スタッフの方は親切です。 他のホテルと違いガードマンはいなく、夜は少し暗いです。 独立広場から徒歩五分程で、立地は良く値段も安いと思います。 朝食はおいしいですが、種類は少ないです。部屋数が少ないからでしょうか? 静かな環境でとても清潔なので、また泊まりたいと思います。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicole from Roma

Grazioso hotel a due passi dal centro

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Arrivate di notte, a sorpresa questo piccolo hotel in arredamento liberty con tante foto alle pareti...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Businessman from 東京、日本

バスタブがない

Posted Nov 29, 2011
多くのウクライナのホテル同様、ここもバスタブがないので、日本人には少し辛い。が、街の中心部に位置するにも関わらず、とても静かで居心地は抜群。室内はウクライナの伝統的な作りで雰囲気もいい。オイルヒーターなので、肌も乾燥しにくかった。 ただ、ドアが普通の木造作りなのでかなり音が漏れる。廊下を歩いている音も筒抜けなので、ゆっくり眠りたい時は要注意。