Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very helpful staff

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff
Cons: It would be good to have an english speaking news channel on the TV
Location: The location is very good. 5 minutes from Independence Square and a number of good restaurants
Arrived and was quickly given a room. However, when I pointed out that the room was very cold, they quickly moved me to another room. Staff were always very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing. The hotel staff weren't the friendliest or most helpful and the bed slightly hard, but good breakfast and great location. We were a 10 minute walk to the city centre where there was so much to offer. We thought this a magical city leaving us with wanting to visit again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the city center

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff were helpful and responded quickly to our requests. The complimentary breakfast was the best I have seen in a hotel, all dishes were of a high quality and looked and tasted great. I have never seen any hotel in North America even come close to a comp breakfast like this one!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine, but there are others cheaper and better.

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Clean, decent rooms with nice bathroom. Good breakfast, pleasant staff.
Cons: Smell of smoke in some rooms. Overpriced compared to others nearby.
Location: Walking distance from Maidan square so very central. Plenty to see in Kiev. I'd recommend Pechersk Lavra complex with churches and monk's caves.
The hotel is tucked away down a roadway with barrier, so easily missed if you are finding it yourself. I was given a room which smelled strongly of smoke, despite requesting non-smoking. I asked if another one was available and the receptionist obliged. The new room was fine. Having arrived late we asked if snacks were available and we received sandwiches made with stale bread, only edible because we were hungry. The hotel was quiet and clean. Decor is a little over-the-top but interesting and adds local colour. We left luggage to be stored for the day after checkout with no problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: The room
Cons: The Kitchen and food
Location: Not in the center but not far to walk
Not much facility Not good lobby Location not so good
4 out of 5
by chris from salt lake city

european comfort

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
the hotel does not look like much from exterior, but inside it has the feel of a very comfortable European hotel. the staff was very friendly and helpful. I was disappointed that the advertised pool was unavailable. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Dmitry from Berkeley

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
Great place in the center of Kiev. Stayed at Gintama for a night. Very friendly and professional staff. Breakfast was good and cooked specifically for me and my family as part of the breakfast included option. Walking distance to a lot of sightseeing in Kiev. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

The pool is an extra fee

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Overall, this was a fine hotel experience because the location was very good and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were too hard for my taste, but that is just me. My main complaint about this place was that the pool which was described as an amenity turned out to be a special, extra fee, reservation required option. The other thing which I didn't understand was that they said the pool was "inside" the sauna. Don't know what that means. The other thing which I was surprised by was that they claimed to have breakfast at the hotel, but when we showed up for breakfast, they did not have anything on their menu. All the had was eggs which were not on their menu. For this, they overcharged and took a crazy amount of time to prepare. So don't get the breakfast and don't expect a pool and you should have a fine experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

quiet and pleasant

Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels
quiet and pleasant
4 out of 5
by David from Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

Not what I expected, but it was a good stay.

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels
Overall this is a good hotel and I would stay there again. However, one of the big draws for me was the pool for relaxation. I really like pools. But this pool costs extra to use and requires an appointment. It is part of the spa. I liked the breakfast each morning, the hotel staff were helpful, and the location is great. It is easy walking distance to the Golden Gate, Cat sculptures, St. Sophia, St. Micheals, and Maiden Square. There is an excellent park across the street with many good views of the river. I could feel the springs on the bed. I weigh a surprising 265 lbs, so that might not be an occurance for everybody. I just used an extra blanket and then I felt fine. Do not be afraid to ask for a drink in the bar. It is a very private bar which is staffed as needed by the hotel. Nearby Restaurants have English Menus, if needed.