Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Central location looking over Maidan and room looking straight over.
Cons: Breakfast - addition of bacon, sausages and baked beans to the menu for people wanting a cooked english breakfast.
Location: Central and ideal for sightseeing. Lots of things to see nearby and easy to travel to other parts from here. Lots of sights to see.
Good location. Room as requested overlooking Maidan. Open late. Able to get a drink hot and cold late evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by Hotel Ukraine, Hotel Management
Hi, Dear Guest! Thank you for mentioning it in the review. Because of your attentive commentary, we can correct the defects and receive better impression from our guest next time. Hope to see you again and prove that comfort and positive impression of our guests is the main target for the Ukraine hotel team. Thank you once again. Best regards, Ukraine hotel team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Can`t beat the location on Maidan

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Cons: Location is fantastic
Although the hotel is set in the 1980s, it shows how Ukraine was under soviet rule. Probably should be updated soon Room is very large and could easily accommodate 4 people
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from germany

Centrally located hotel reflecting its era.

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Central location
Cons: Customer service concepts of non-reception staff.
Location: Central location.
The hotel met my expectations. The non-reception staff should be encouraged in pro-active customer service attitudes. The prevailing experience was disinterested observation of guests and avoidance of engagement. The impression gained was one of hiding behind the language barrier to avoid doing anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IA

Nice, comfortable, convenient hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016
I stayed there for 2 days. The location is convenient. The view is great. The hotel staff is very helpful. The taxi drivers that hang out there prey on tourists though. They charge 300 uah to many places that other drivers only charge 100 uah, or less for )))) Go down hill for taxi,,,or call your own. Skip the nightclub because the dancers start hitting you up for $5 tips for nothing , the minute you walk on the door to club. I went in for a drink and to relax and was immediately bombarded, after paying the 100 uah entrance fee. so, I slammed my drink when it arrived and walked right back out ,,entrance fee wasted))))) The restaurant has a very nice buffet and very professional staff. Very good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire England

Great hotel, great location

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Very helpful staff, beautiful building and in a lovely location. The city is beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Hotel Ukraine, Hotel Management
Hello, dear Guest! We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel Ukraine in all. We are very glad that you still have a good impression of the city of Kyiv. Hope to see you again. Best regards, Ukraine hotel team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridgend UK

Nice hotel center of city

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: central location
Cons: mattress could be better and more towels.. and perhaps a kettle
Location: perfect location
It was what was required for my trip to Kiev....Good location
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Dear Guest! Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that overall you were satisfied with the accommodation in the Ukraine hotel. We take into the account all of your remarks to make your next stay much better. Hope to see you again and prove that comfort and positive impression of our guests is the main target for the Ukraine hotel team. Thank you once again. Best regards, Ukraine hotel team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from channel islands

great location central kiev

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: lifts and attitude of front desk staff
Location: metro close so everything accessible from hotel. good breakfdast and eateries on main street.
the hotel is more 3 star than 4. the receptionists are dis interested and the breakfast of poor quality. the price however is very good for the location and the beds very very comfortable. allow 20 minutes to leave the hotel as the lifts are absolutely dreadful. i would stay here again but try teaching the reception staff they are there to help and be civil and smile and welcome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Dear Guest! Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that overall you were satisfied with the accommodation in the Ukraine hotel. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the staff’s attitude to the guests. We can promise you that we will definitely clarify the situation and take all necessary measures to make sure that it will not happen again. We are grateful that you are not indifferent; thanks to you we have an opportunity to improve our weaknesses. We take into the account all of your remarks to make your next stay much better. Hope to see you again and prove that comfort and positive impression of our guests is the main target for the Ukraine hotel team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Havant, UK

Very clean, very quiet, best views in Kiev.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: On the main Maidan Square. Metro is directly behind the hotel and about a thirty second walk away. Underground mall underneath the main square also.
Always nice staying here. The rooms are completely soundproofed so you never hear any outside or inside noise from other visitors. Bathrooms are clean, breakfast is simple but fine. Staff at reception speak good English and are also very obliging. Helpful with booking Taxi's etc. Any room requests are gladly considered and I fully recommend a high floor looking over the Maidan. The only real downer (IMO) is the seedy bar in reception. Considering this is a state run hotel you think they'd pick something with a little more class! ...Kinda miss the Babushka's on every floor (with their disapproving looks when arriving late at night!) Their desks remain as a reminder of their previous role here:)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Dear Guest! Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that overall you were satisfied with the accommodation in the Ukraine hotel. We take into the account all of your remarks to make your next stay much better. Hope to see you again and prove that comfort and positive impression of our guests is the main target for the Ukraine hotel team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Union City, United States of America

Location is great, good value for a hotel in down

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location is good. It's an old style premium soviet hotel. Staff is friendly, breakfast is pretty good
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Dear Guest! Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that overall you were satisfied with the accommodation in the Ukraine hotel. We take into the account all of your remarks to make your next stay much better. Hope to see you again and prove that comfort and positive impression of our guests is the main target for the Ukraine hotel team.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: It's old
Location: The location is excellent
The hotel is located in the heart of kiev and i will be come again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Dear Guest! Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that overall you were satisfied with the accommodation in the Ukraine hotel. Hope to see you again and prove that comfort and positive impression of our guests is the main target for the Ukraine hotel team.